A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Claiming my Voice

By MaeLRie (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By MaeLRie (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

For most of my life, I made myself as likeable as I could. I aimed to please and to keep the peace. I agreed with everyone, I stayed mostly quiet and unremarkable, and I never said anything original, controversial, or otherwise remarkable. I feared the unknown of what might happen if I made people upset with me.

But then I grew up.

Now I know that I can’t please everyone, and that if people don’t like me or if they get mad at me, it may sting, but I’ll be okay. I’m stronger now.

So I’m learning to claim my own voice and speak out. I’m also pursuing my very own dreams and passions. I don’t know the future, but I know the now—and I like it.

I’m not the only one who’s been on this particular journey:

“O friend[s], I have lived with you after appearances hitherto. Henceforward I am the truth’s…. I must be myself. I cannot break myself any longer for you, or you…. I cannot sell my liberty and my power, to save [your] sensibility.”
–Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Self-reliance”

One comment on “Claiming my Voice

  1. Marya
    May 26, 2013

    Sarrah, I am really happy that I stumbled on your blog. It seems that it will be just the right mix of science, philosophy and poetry. Looking forward to your ruminations.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in Discoveries from Living, Discoveries from Writing and tagged , , , , .
