A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Health Is Proportion

See page for author [CC BY 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

See page for author [CC BY 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Lately I haven’t been able to post here as often as I’d like. But I have a very good excuse: I’m learning the art of proportion.

A character in Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway (which I’m currently reading) asserts, “Health we must have; and health is proportion.” I agree.

Proportion, to me, means following stress and exertion with rest and relaxation, and vice versa.

This is especially crucial for me because I suffer from a chronic illness that is aggravated by stress and exertion, yet I also have a driven, perfectionistic personality that causes me to take on more than I can physically handle.

But I’ve learned all too well the truth of these words of Ovid: “that, which has not its alternation of rest, will not last long.”

Like many Americans who have imbibed our culture’s driven mindset, I must consciously try to put more rest, relaxation, and whole-hearted leisure into my life in order to maintain proportion.

And I hope that with increased rest, soon my scale will balance out and allow me to post here more regularly.

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2013 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , .
