A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

When I Grow Up

01D260C7-777E-4F7E-9E0B-D774251FAB1D-170-000000288540637A_zps234c98e7

When I grow up,

I want to be Jane Austen,
 delighting and
 poking fun
     of people—
        somber,
          hysterical,
            impulsive,
              scheming,
                wonderful
 people.

I also want to be Victor Hugo,
    grieving over
                       evil,
    celebrating
                       virtue.

I want to be William Wordsworth,
  reminding people
            to admire,
            to cry,
            to sing,
            to be.

I want to be Mary Shelley,
  daring
       to wonder
            “What if–?”
  and
        to say it.

And I want to be T. S. Eliot,
  making
          statements,
  making
          new from old,
  making
          history
              change its direction
                  again.

And oh, to be William Shakespeare,
  crafting monuments of
        words,
        plots, and
        characters;
  giving the world
        everlasting
               gifts.

I want to be my
g
reat,
     great,
         great
                grandparents

when I grow up.

 

I welcome your thoughts.

