A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

The Luxury of a Quiet Life

“My life is for itself and not for a spectacle. I much prefer that it should be of a lower strain, so it be genuine and equal, than that it should be glittering and unsteady.”

–Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Self-Reliance”

 In our culture of celebrity worship, it’s easy to forget that a calm, steady life is real luxury. I don’t envy public figures; zero privacy and endless drama are celebrity’s price. I would say I pity them, but those I truly pity are their opposites—people in poverty and war-torn areas who don’t know if they’ll get to eat the next meal. In contrast to both groups, I am rich with the luxury of regular smalltown workdays and quiet evenings at home. I’m grateful to have this kind of wealth, and I hope I never take it for granted.

By 4028mdk09 [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By 4028mdk09 [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

 

6 comments on “The Luxury of a Quiet Life

  1. pmitsuing
    September 10, 2013

    Great post, that is real wealth when you are enjoying and living your own life.

    Like

  2. Witness
    September 10, 2013

    Lovely, insightful Emerson! He assembled words so deftly. I love “glittering and unsteady.”

    Good catch, that neither extreme is desirable; I share your suspicion that the extreme of the powers common to celebrity is generally preferable to the extreme of the powerlessness of poverty and survival crisis.

    You remind me of the perhaps apocryphal Chinese proverb: “May you live in interesting times.”

    You also remind me to notice the luxury of my quiet life. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Jenna Dee
    September 10, 2013

    Thank you for reminding us all that we are so lucky to have everything we need. Love Jenna

    Like

  4. Poshlist
    September 10, 2013

    I love this…it is the quintessential understanding that is missing in so many lives, our values verses our material possessions. I think we all get lost in the priority that each should have in our lives. Thanks.

    Like

  5. Deidre
    March 20, 2014

    I am so glad I found your blog today. I’m loving it. Thank you.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      March 21, 2014

      Thank you so much, Deidre! I love your blog, too! I hope to explore it more as soon as I get a chance. I can already tell we have a lot in common! I’m so glad you visited and commented. Have a great day.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2013 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
