A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Childhood vs. Adulthood

ljhlkjklj

It’s grand to be a child, to be cared for
and protected, while romping loud and wild;
to babble, sob, or scream without reserve:
it’s grand to be a child, when you’re a child.

But grander still is being an adult.
It’s true! It’s what I’ve learned as years have passed–
that there is joy in caring for myself,
in trusting my own strength to hold me fast,

in being free to speak with wise restraint,
to choose my actions judging what is best
for me and those I love, to discipline
myself to reach my dreams and build my nest.

And yet, I still have thrilling, childlike fun.
When you’re an adult, it’s grand to be one!

I welcome your thoughts.

