A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Happiness Is Like a Checking Account

“When people are happy, they have a reserve…upon which to draw, whereas she was like a wheel without a tire…jolted by every pebble.” –Virginia Woolf, Mrs. Dalloway

Happiness is like a checking account. We make deposits when we rest, relax, and experience the pleasures of things we enjoy. We make withdrawals when we work and when we are sick, stressed, or otherwise taxed. Life, like a budget, works better when we make more deposits than withdrawals.

This is something that doesn’t come naturally to me. As a classic Type A personality, I tend to push myself like a slave-driver and, as a result, live in the “red.” So I’m trying to learn how to make resting, relaxing, and having fun a priority in my life. As silly as it seems, I often won’t do it unless it’s on my to-do list: “Do something fun or relaxing” (which leads me to consult another list, of potential leisure activities). But when I do finally rest, relax, do something fun, and generally make time for leisure, my happiness account balance increases, and life feels a lot better.

Sergio Ortega [GFDL (www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via Wikimedia Commons

Sergio Ortega [GFDL (www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

One comment on “Happiness Is Like a Checking Account

  1. 2flames1soul
    October 9, 2013

    I see that I need to make a few deposits myself 😉 Great way to look at it from another angle…

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

