A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Rethinking Once Again…Maybe the Middle Ages Weren’t So Bad After All

Well,  I’m back already, because I feel compelled to share my latest about-face…

I have come to find out, through reading for my art history course, that the concept of the Middle Ages as a “dark” era of no advancement that necessitated a cultural “rebirth” is actually not endorsed by modern historians; it was, rather, the attitude felt and spread by thinkers of the Enlightenment (~1700s).

Modern historians, according to my textbook (Art Past Art Present), actually celebrate the Middle Ages as a time of worldwide flourishing of religious art, architecture, and thought; expansion of inter-cultural awareness; and increasing governmental stability.

So I don’t know exactly what to think about the Middle Ages now, except that—once again—things are not as black-and-white as I first thought (as I so conveniently demonstrated in my post “Grieving for the Middle Ages.”)

And I am shaking my head and laughing at myself, because I should know by now: it seems that every single time I feel a strong opinion about something, it turns out to be something I need to consider more carefully to look for nuances and alternative points of view.

(I also have a feeling that I may not be able to stay away from my blog, after all. I just won’t be posting on a regular/scheduled basis for right now.)

IMG_4321

One comment on “Rethinking Once Again…Maybe the Middle Ages Weren’t So Bad After All

  1. Danny Breslin
    November 20, 2013

    We all like to look back and think we’re better, more knowledgeable, more creative and open to ideas than those who came before us. The enlightenment was all about breaking free of the suffocating religious dogma that the church had, and has, been using for centuries to solidify its position and grip on the hearts, minds, souls and throats of the people.
    The thinkers of the Middle Ages would have looked back at the Dark Ages and thought look how far we have evolved, how clever are we? But every structure needs its foundations, so we should look back and be thankful for what past generations have given us.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

