A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

New Year’s Is Here! (It’s my favorite holiday!)

By User:Neurovelho (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By User:Neurovelho (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Happy New Year, everyone! New Year’s is my favorite holiday. I love its atmosphere of reflection and celebration. I wish we had such a holiday for each new quarter—then we would have that many more chances to reflect on where we’ve been, make resolutions and wishes, get together with friends and family, and get a day off from work. 🙂

This year my main goal is to take care of myself better, starting with making self-care my first priority. Sometimes the most obvious things in life are the hardest for me to grasp: when I don’t take care of myself (by making sure my body gets what it needs in terms of rest, exercise, nutrition, fun, quiet time, etc.), I lose the ability to take care of others, fulfill my commitments, and work on the never-ending list of projects I have going. Usually it is for the sake of these three things that I fail to take care of myself in the first place. I get my priorities backwards. But this year, I’m aiming to keep my priorities in the right order.

That’s my resolution. My wish for this year is that by fulfilling my resolution and taking good care of myself, I’ll start feeling well enough physically again to do more of the things I enjoy, such as blogging! But for all that’s not in my control, I say, que sera, sera.

I’m wishing all of you who read this a wonderful new year filled with laughter, learning, and love.

3 comments on “New Year’s Is Here! (It’s my favorite holiday!)

  1. Aussa Lorens
    January 2, 2014

    I think that’s an excellent goal– self care is so easy to neglect when life gets busy. I keep thinking that someday I’ll be some kind of real adult and start taking vitamins and sleeping right and eating vegetables but I suppose those changes take actual effort and don’t just suddenly hit you after a certain birthday. Darn.
    Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      January 2, 2014

      Thanks, Aussa! You hit on a big part of my motivation for wanting to take better care of myself–to be a “real adult.” I’m seeing that I can’t expect anyone else to take care of me anymore–it’s up to me! And when I do finally claim my adulthood and autonomy by taking care of myself, life works a LOT better.
      Happy New Year to you too!

      Like

  2. MeredithMorckel
    January 9, 2014

    That’s also my resolution. I think it was last year, and the year before, too 😉 Do you break those categories into specific goals or is it self-care in general?

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , , , .
