A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

A Case of the Grays

Lately I’ve noticed something in me that I’ve never noticed before: a craving for aesthetic fulfillment. I desire colors, music poetry, art—anything beautiful. Why? I think it’s because of winter.

During spring, summer, and fall, I am entranced by nature. Every day the sight of green mountainsides all around me fills me with a deep, blissful contentedness. I will never, ever tire of West Virginia’s beauty.

But now my land is gray and brown (and this has been a particularly bad winter), so I find myself wanting to look at beautiful art to replenish my aesthetic-input levels.

Is this normal? I don’t know [yet], but I’d be interested to know if others get what I’m calling “the grays.”

I have a few books on world art; these have provided visual feasts for me. Music and poetry are also feeding my soul. Even knitting with pretty yarn feels soothing to my spirit.

I’m working on committing Keats’s Ode on a Grecian Urn to memory, because it’s not only beautiful but also relevant to my plight: the artistic beauty of the ancient Greek urn has survived through centuries, and nature’s seasons mean nothing to it; it only “knows” one thing: beauty.

ancient-vase(Image from PublicDomainPictures.net)

4 comments on “A Case of the Grays

  1. Holistic Wayfarer
    May 23, 2014

    I never stopped to smell the roses in my 20s. You kidding me? I was your classic Type A in the east coast. When I moved to the Pacific coast to try and heal from having weakened so much, I started noticing the flowers. And how beautiful they were. Beauty is healing – bc it is life itself. I think my body was craving balance.

    Keep up the lovely blogging.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      May 23, 2014

      Thank you! Yes, I completely agree that beauty is healing. I think that’s why most residential treatment facilities for mental illness and addiction are in beautiful places in the South and the West (or at least that’s how it seems to me).

      Thanks for reading and commenting on this post—this is reminding me of a goal I’d forgotten about, to devote more time to making my home prettier for this same reason—to make it a place of healing, comfort, and life-rejuvenating.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sunday Literary Quote | A Bringer of New Things

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , , .
