A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Weather Conversations (It’s the First Day of Spring!)

photo

“That is enough, Margaret. If you cannot think of anything appropriate to say, you will please restrict your remarks to the weather.” I love this line from Emma Thompson’s screenplay adaptation of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility; it never fails to make me smile. I also make use of its practical advice more often than I’d like to admit!

I always said fall was my favorite season growing up—I loved the gorgeous colors of the trees, the crisp air, and most of all, going back to school! But now I dislike winter so intensely that fall is rather depressing to me. Now, the season I continually pine for is summer. I love the summertime pleasures of going camping, sitting outside in the evenings, indulging in fruity iced tea or lemonade, and just closing my eyes and feeling the sun’s warmth on my face. Ah, summer! I suppose I could just move south to have summer year-round…but the trouble is, I’m still too attached to my native land of West Virginia; I’m pretty sure I would start pining for my “mountain mama’s” beauty after a while.

Why am I writing a blog post about the weather? I am celebrating that today is the first day of spring, which means we’re officially out of winter and closer to summer! Yes!!!!

2 comments on “Weather Conversations (It’s the First Day of Spring!)

  1. thelostkerryman
    March 20, 2014

    it doesn’t feel quite spring-like here in the mountain state, but there certainly are signs it is coming….hopefully.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      March 21, 2014

      I know! It will feel nice for a day and let us get our hopes up, and then it’s cold again. Oh, I can’t wait for summer!
      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , .
