A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Discovering the Joys of Knitting

Last year I decided to learn how to knit because I thought I might like it.

It turns out, I LOVE it! 

Knitting is incredibly soothing to my mind and spirit, in so many ways. It is…

Freeing: The repetitive, semi-mindless action calms me and frees my mind to think, daydream, listen to music or an audiobook, reflect, pre-write, or just be—and I’m finding out how essential that kind of peaceful mental space is to me.

Centering: Working with my hands grounds me in my here-and-now physical reality. I’m naturally inclined toward worrying, navel-gazing, and general abstraction, so doing easy physical work helps me feel centered in the present moment.

Calming: When I knit during social situations, it calms me down and relieves me of social anxiety, thus allowing me to be a better conversationalist and listener.

Uplifting: Making something beautiful uplifts my spirit in an aesthetic and artistic way. And when what I’m making is a gift for someone else, another level of good feeling is added to the process.

Stimulating: Knitting has become a fun hobby for me in the sense that I enjoy the pursuit of it—I like looking up new knitting patterns, thinking about new things to knit, and so on.

And now, to show off my work!

Scarf for my soon-to-be husband:

photo 3

Leg warmers for my best friend:

photo (3)3

Scarf for me:

photo-42121

Hat for me/practice:

photo

 

 

Scarf for my mom:

photo (4)

 

I still feel curiously astounded each time I’ve knitted something—“I actually made that with my own hands? How is that possible?”

6 comments on “Discovering the Joys of Knitting

  1. Ngan R.
    April 14, 2014

    Sarrah, I love to knit too, but haven’t picked up my needles in a while. Your post just reminded me of how much I love knitting for its soothing and calming effects when I am most stressed. Great projects!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      April 14, 2014

      Thanks, Ngan! I’m glad I could help you remember the benefits of knitting. It really is a balm for the soul.

      Like

  2. handmadehumanist
    April 14, 2014

    Hooray! Are you on Ravelry? My name there is JennyRebecca.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      April 14, 2014

      Thanks, Jenny! Yes, I’m on Ravelry, but I haven’t done much with it yet except look at patterns. But I just sent you a friend request. 🙂

      Like

  3. cricketmuse
    April 23, 2014

    I have often contemplated knitting. Your show and tell is inspiring👍

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      April 25, 2014

      Thank you! Learning to knit has been so good and fun for me that I do highly recommend it.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , .
