A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Tea: “A Temporary Solution to the Cares of the World”

photo (3)

I LOVE tea. All kinds of tea—black, green, red, herbal, flavored, etc.; both hot tea and iced tea. I drink several cups a day. So I loved this passage from Alexander McCall Smith’s The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, in which Mma Ramotswe is thinking about tea (as she often does, which is one reason I love the series):

“Tea was just a temporary solution to the cares of the world, although it certainly helped…Most problems could be diminished by the drinking of tea and the thinking through of things that could be done while tea was being drunk. And even if that did not solve problems, at least it could put them off for a little while, which we sometimes needed to do, we really did.”

(From Blue Shoes and Happiness by Alexander McCall Smith, p. 3)

I heartily agree!

2 comments on “Tea: “A Temporary Solution to the Cares of the World”

  1. thewritertracy
    April 17, 2014

    I am also a huge fan of tea and drink all kinds. Here is a quote I have posted in my office that you may also enjoy, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough, or a book long enough, to suit me.” -C.S. Lewis

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , .
