A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

The Magic of Hawaii

20140423_154346

My new husband and I just returned from our wedding-honeymoon-vacation trip to Hawaii (the Big Island), and it was, of course, glorious! As neither of us had been there before, we were completely entranced by Hawaii’s magic and beauty. For example:

* The island’s beauty is incredibly varied:

* The appearance of the landscape constantly changes with the sky, so that everywhere you look, every second, it’s newly beautiful.

* The landscape of the Big Island differs dramatically from one location to the next. We went from beach, to desert, to mountains, to rainforest, to pastureland, and we didn’t even see the whole island. A trail guide told me that there are 13 basic types of weather in the world, and the Big Island has 11 of them (including snow, at the top of the volcano mountains)!

* The people and their culture are just as laid back as you’d imagine.

* We listened to the local radio as we drove around all week, and I never heard one song with a beat faster than that of the Beach Boys’ song “Kokomo.”

* All the people we interacted with gave me the strong impression that stress, hurry, and rudeness are not part of their cultural vocabulary at all.

* I also fell in love with the beauty of the people and their culture. For example, their language is full of great sounds and fun words:

* “Waikoloa” (wind)

* “Mahalo” (thank you)

* “Aloha” (hello, goodbye, and/or love)

As I settle back in to my everyday life, I want to keep these enchanting aspects of Hawaii’s island culture alive inside of me.

Here are a few more photos…we took roughly a thousand!

20140421_104937

That's me!

That’s me, having the time of my life!

 

20140421_100901

IMG_3569

20140420_185918

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

20140419_093529

 

6 comments on “The Magic of Hawaii

  1. alifemoment
    April 28, 2014

    Hawaii = Paradise/ Heaven šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. abhisunseeker
    April 28, 2014

    Nice Photos, I just came from this magical place and just started my memoir about this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ginene Nagel
    April 28, 2014

    I happy that you have started your life together in this beautiful place.

    Like

  4. psychologistmimi
    May 4, 2014

    congratulations! and yes, hawaii is magical.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hope n Motion
    May 9, 2014

    Thanks for sharing! On my to-do list šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living, Other Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , .
