A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

The Real Reason Why “No One Is Perfect”

untitled

The real reason why no one is perfect is that there is no such thing as perfect! Every standard we measure ourselves against is a standard that we have created ourselves or that our society has created for us. “Perfect” is a social construct, and the standard of “perfect” beauty, morals, talent, etc. varies widely across cultures and time periods. 

So: if you struggle with perfectionism, as I have often throughout my life, just remember: “perfect” is a made-up concept.

And you can make up your own version of perfection. Today mine involves accepting my uniqueness and life’s bumps and bruises, rather than wishing that things were different or that I could be more “perfect”!

“Live no longer to the expectation of …people with whom [you] converse. Say to them, … ‘I must be myself. I cannot break myself any longer for you, or you.'” 

–Ralph Waldo Emerson

7 comments on “The Real Reason Why “No One Is Perfect”

  1. UDUAK
    May 7, 2014

    Reblogged this on The strength in The word.

    Like

  2. Shawn
    May 7, 2014

    Nice writing.Your article was just the way i feel.There is no definite fact to be perfect for anybody or anything.And also must say…great quotation.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      May 7, 2014

      Thanks, Shawn! I’m glad this struck a chord with you. Yes, Emerson is one of my very favorite writers.

      Like

  3. stacilys
    May 7, 2014

    Hey, this is great. I love it. I blogger friend once commented on a post I did about beauty and western culture’s view of it. He said that when everyone has the ‘perfect’ body, it ceases to be beautiful.
    Thanks for a great post Sarrah.
    🙂

    Like

  4. Hope n Motion
    May 9, 2014

    Truth!

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

