A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

102

Looking forward, thinking back…

As I created this post, I realized that several things I read this week had to do with giving and privilege. It’s a good topic to be talking about and mulling on, I think!

So, here are some of my discoveries this week…

From Articles

From a TIME article: The current trend in top-hit music is the “dirty” sound of speakers crackling, distorted beats, and general ripping/tearing/crunching sounds. It’s in more top songs than I realized, including “Radioactive” and even Katy Perry’s “Firework.” The suggested reason for this trend is that it gives the effect of listening to music turned up really loud, even though you’re actually listening at low volume on little ear buds. Interesting!

An online New Yorker article introduced me to Peggy McIntosh and several interesting points in the discussion of privilege and racism. It had never occurred to me, for example, that as a white person “I am never asked to speak for all the people of my racial group.” That’s true! Other enlightening points too were here:The Origins of ‘Privilege’: The Woman Who Coined the Term ‘White Privilege'”

 From WordPress Blogs

Some posts I especially liked:

Higher Learning: Man Installs Charity Fridge Outside His House That’s Open To The Public

Saturday Night Blog: Charitable Giving: The Case for Good Works
(Scroll down to the last paragraph of this post for the main important part.)

Nillu Nasser Stelter, Fiction & Freelance WriterThe Forgotten Joys of Longhand Writing 

What Jessie Read: Book Review: The Three Musketeers

From My Reading

I’m loving The Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore. I can’t read it fast enough, but I also don’t want to go any faster because I need to absorb every word!

I liked this sentence in Don Quixote:

“The pleasure in possessing is not in hoarding one’s riches, but rather in sharing them, and not spending them in just any old way, but knowing how to spend them well.”
–Cervantes, Don Quixote, Part 2, Chapter 6

In My Writing

I started a new blog! My Post-God Life: Escaping the Cave and Adjusting to the Light 

My “Sunday Short Quote” from last weekend, Tolstoy’s line about light and shadow, has permeated a lot of my writing and thinking this week.

Other

Duolingo, the free language learning app and website: I am having so much fun doing French on it. Trés bon!

4 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. emilievardaman
    May 16, 2014

    Look to Tim Wise for more on white privilege.
    I loved this little piece. So much to think about in such a small space. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Witness
    May 16, 2014

    Hiya.

    I read your post quite a while ago — hours? — and have been on Duolingo ever since. !! Thanks! Thanks also for your other thoughts, and good luck with your new blog. It looks juicy. I especially like the teaser of Christianity as a disability!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      May 17, 2014

      Thanks, Witness! I know, Duolingo is really addictive…but it’s a productive addiction! 🙂

      And thanks for following my new blog!

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2014 by in Cat Photos, Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , , .
