A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

Also on my mind: the upcoming anniversary of D-Day

Also on my mind: the upcoming anniversary of D-Day

From Articles

I highly recommend this Psychology Today article: “Hell-Oh Neighbor.” It gives research-based tips on diffusing tense neighbor-to-neighbor relations and getting along as peacefully as possible. (The tips could also apply to relationships with coworkers, family members, or really anyone.) Plus, it’s funny!

This is a fun article from The Guardian:The Top 10 Bookworms’ Tales“—meaning stories about bookworms. It was fun to see that Don Quixote (which I’m currently reading) made the list!

From WordPress

They’re all about books this week!

Classroom as Microcosm: Summer Book Club: What Are We Reading This Week?

The Daily Post: “Recommended Reading: Montaigne’s Essays”

Eleventh Stack: “Happy Birthday, Mansfield Park!”

The Bookshelf of Emily J.: “Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Getting for My Birthday”

From My Reading

From Don Quixote: A humorous line from the mouth of the title character:

“Although ‘he who praises himself spatters himself,’ I’m forced to do it at times, such as when no one else is present who can do it for me.”

In Art Past Art Present, I learned about Ife, an ancient city-state and modern town in what is now Nigeria. Its dynasty of kings, according to the book, “may be the oldest continuous kingship in the world.” I was saddened to read about the nearby ancient kingdom of Benin, which had a highly functional and organized society—until colonialism swooped in and took everything, including thousands of works of art which are still in British and other European museums. Booo!

In My Writing

I’ve started noticing great words that I never use, in speech or writing, but that I want to start using: two are “seldom” and “artifice.” 🙂

7 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. mhamed ismail
    May 30, 2014

    wher is the muslem tombe?

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      May 30, 2014

      I could be mistaken, but I think the soldiers were given only two choices, when they registered, of what grave marker they wanted—a cross or a Star of David. If so, that’s obviously unfair!

      Like

  2. daniel bryan no no
    May 31, 2014

    Amazing blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own website soon but
    I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m
    totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Bless you!

    Like

  3. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found
    something that helped me. Kudos!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , .
