A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

Items from my mind’s inbox this week:

From Articles

TIME: “These Are the Jobs Employers Are Desperate to Fill
Interesting and good-to-know information
(Added note: apparently the website redirects you to the home page the first time you click the link, but if you click it again, you should get the article—or at least I think so.)

From WordPress

Blog posts I especially liked:

Hessian with Teeth: “Should We Attempt to Convert Others?” 

Eleventh Stack: “Slowing Down”

Broadside: “The Challenge of Giving Away Your Money”

My First Mile:Overcoming a Lifetime of Negative Beliefs About My Body

The Daily Post: “Should You Start a Newsletter?”

From My Reading

I finished reading Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman. What a delightful book! I highly recommend it for teen girls and adult women, especially Jane Austen fans. The first sentence hearkens back to the beginning of P&P: “There is little more likely to exasperate a person of sense than finding herself tied by affection and habit to an Enthusiast.” I could relate strongly to Julia’s character, because the book was so well-written, but also to the character of Ashleigh, being an Enthusiast myself!

Another Don Quixote quote:

“I well know what bravery is—it’s a virtue somewhere between the two vices of cowardice and foolhardiness.”

In My Writing

In my number-one long-writing project, the memoir, I’m slogging through the chapter on the dark year I had when I was fifteen. Depression, friend fights, rebellion, oh yeah. It was miserable. Thankfully, it’s not so miserable writing it, because I know the story gets better, and because writing it is giving me new insights and perspectives about that dark year of my life. That’s the joy of writing a memoir!

8 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. Sharon Rawlette
    June 6, 2014

    For some reason, the TIME link took me to their front page instead of the article, but I Googled it and found it. Interesting! Thanks for the lead.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 6, 2014

      That’s weird, I see what you mean—the site redirects to the homepage; but then I tried clicking on the link again, and it took me to the article. If I could figure out how to fix it, I would. Thanks for pointing out the problem.

      Like

  2. Sharon Rawlette
    June 6, 2014

    And good luck with your memoir. For me, memoir writing is both the most challenging kind of writing and the most rewarding. May the latter, at least, be true for you, too!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 6, 2014

      Thank you! That’s good to hear. It sounds like my experience is right on target, then!

      Like

  3. Cecilia
    June 6, 2014

    Thank you so much for mentioning my post! And good luck with your memoir writing 🙂

    Like

  4. emilievardaman
    June 6, 2014

    Brave to write about that dark year. It took me a long, long time to finally write about a very bad situation in my life. I have shared it with few people.Even though it happened over 25 years ago, I still don’t want to put it on my blog.
    Good for you, brave woman!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2014 by in Cat Photos, Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , , , .
