A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Unplugging My Life

2012-05-19171801

It seems to me that technology is like a creeping vine—rather like the strangling “Devil’s Snare” plant of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. The lure of latest technology and convenience is so compelling and ubiquitous that we tend to not think twice about whether we really want a particular gadget, app, social media platform, etc. in our lives. The only question we ask is whether we can get it and when.

It’s not until we find ourselves stressed out and bleary-eyed from staring at our gadget screens all day, ever-connected to our social circles and the larger culture through the internet, or until we find ourselves suddenly surrounded by nature and quiet, that we realize how our lives have been taken over.

I’ve seen a lot of conversation in the media and blogosphere about “unplugging”—putting down our smart phones, tablets, and other gadgets to focus on the physical present moments in our lives. I’ve read a few great articles about smart ways to set limits for our gadget use (“Step Away from the Phone!”) and about how more people are realizing that unchecked tech-gadget use can drain our energy and peace of mind.

Also, I wrote a little article about this that was published in my local newspaper’s op-ed section; you can read it online here.

I am shifting to a more analog lifestyle in several ways. I am very prone to stress, headaches, and overwhelm, and the computer technology all around me was making it worse. (Am I really the only person who gets headaches from looking at screens too long?) My efforts to “unplug” my life are helping me feel so much better.

Ways I’m Unplugging

1. I deleted my email and social media accounts from my smart phone; I now only check them on my computer at home. I’m considering downgrading from a smart phone to a landline and a cheap cell phone for emergencies.

2. I do most of my writing by hand now. That has the added benefit of forcing my thoughts to slow down and choose my words more carefully.

See my post on "Reviving Letter Writing"

See my post on “Reviving Letter Writing”

3. I’m bringing letter writing back into my life.

4. I turn my phone off at night now. Being inaccessible sometimes is important to my peace of mind.

5. I’m making a conscious effort to have more screen-free time, whether I’m knitting, reading, writing, cooking, going outside, or just relaxing with my cats and husband. This helps me keep a firm grasp on my boundary between private and publically shared thoughts. And when I am on the computer or watching TV, I try (though not always successfully) to limit that time before I get a bad headache from the screen.

This is all about peace of mind. I might be unusual in my low tolerance for stress and screens. Most people seem to be fine with, and even thrive on, staying constantly connected to their social world through their smart phones and other gadgets. I’m not saying they are wrong, not at all. I’m just finding out that that lifestyle doesn’t work for me. Smart, popular technology takes a conscious effort to break away from. For me, the benefits are worth the effort.

2 comments on “Unplugging My Life

  1. typosandterseness
    June 12, 2014

    You must have been reading my mind!! I too find myself overwhelmed by how the ever increasing tendrils of technology snake their ways into our daily lives. I recently cracked the screen of my “smart” phone and have decided I will not replace it. In fact, I too am considering getting a landline and and old fashioned (ha!) answering machine with a little cassette like I had growing up. I find that I have a lot of eye/vision issues when I look at my computer too long but am struggling with the best way to keep on writing–I use pen and paper, but am also considering getting a word processor instead of just my computer. I feel like I can’t look at computer screens for too long without feeling heavy headed.
    Thank you for showing me that I’m not the only one who struggles with their relationship to technology.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarrah J. Woods
    June 14, 2014

    Thank you so much for commenting; I’m really glad to know I’m not the only one struggling with this. Sometimes when I talk about it to friends or family, it seems like I’m speaking a foreign language—that’s how little they get where I’m coming from. So it’s great to hear from someone else who is going against the tide of technology for the sake of self-care. I wish you and I both success in figuring out our best practices in these areas.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

