A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

These Photos Cost Me Way Too Much

In college I went on a week-long study tour to London and Paris over a rainy March spring break. I had signed up and paid for the trip the previous semester, and the money was nonrefundable. Otherwise I would have backed out, because I was having a big health crisis that ended up being diagnosed as Chronic Fatigue and Immune Dysfunction Syndrome—or, in other words, they couldn’t figure out why I felt so tired I could hardly walk. So I went on the trip in a wheelchair. The week was traumatic and I still have nightmares about it sometimes, but it remains the only time I’ve been out of the country (USA), and I also got to see and photograph some great sites.

I’ve been using the photos for a while now on my blog, so I thought I’d explain where they came from. They were dearly purchased! 

Here are a few more. I hope I get to go back sometime, now that I’m in much better health.

Paris on a rainy day as seen from the Eiffel Tower

The Cathedral of Notre-Dame

One of the beaches at Normandy, France (site of the D-day invasion)

Assyrican sculptures in the Louvre

London: Big Ben, glimpse of the London Eye

Bodiam Castle in England

Recreation of Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London

Another girl from my college and I, in the wheelchair, by the Parthenon sculptures in the British Museum. I look perfectly healthy, don’t I? Ay, there’s the rub. www.ButYouDontLookSick.com

8 comments on “These Photos Cost Me Way Too Much

  1. emilievardaman
    June 12, 2014

    What a rugged trip that must have been. I’d love to make it to Europe – not in a wheelchair – but I doubt my finances will ever allow that. I travel through others’ photos. Thank you.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 12, 2014

      Yes, I’m with you on that. Sometime I want to check out the Google Earth virtual tours I’ve heard about. The internet has given a whole new meaning to “armchair traveler”!

      Like

  2. Jacqui Murray
    June 12, 2014

    They are gorgeous, Sarrah, dearly-bought or not. I’ve tried everything with photos, trying to make them work. I use some of my own but that’s pretty limited. I rework public domain pictures in Photoshop but I’m not terribly effective. I know how to use PS, but things rarely come out with the pizazz I want. I’m now using a free site called Canva to help me. They have some great templates there.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 12, 2014

      Thank you, Jacqui. And thanks again for your tips! I’m linking to your post in my “Weekly Mind Cleanup” post tomorrow. 🙂

      Like

  3. Rose
    June 12, 2014

    Good for you that you went ahead and did it, despite your physical limitations. I am nearly positive I would have backed out.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 12, 2014

      Thanks, Rose! Well, I guess it was a good thing, but I’m not entirely sure!

      Like

  4. Holistic Wayfarer
    July 4, 2014

    SW, the shots are great. I’m glad you got away, though the circumstances really were a bummer. So happy to hear you’re better.

    You might find the How to Eat page useful. I also talk about what diet had done to my health in the I Built My Life on Sugar:

    myholistictable.wordpress.com

    Xxxx
    Diana

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 5, 2014

      Thank you, Diana. I’ll check out your page if I get a chance. Have a great day.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2014 by in Discoveries from Learning, Other Photos and tagged , , , , , , , .
