A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

photo (3)

It’s been a hot, humid, and sleepy week here.

From Articles

New York Times: “In Praise of (Offline) Slow Reading” by David Mikics
This article was so good that I wanted to underline every sentence! But I’ll limit myself here to quoting a paragraph:

“The digital world offers us many advantages, but if we yield to that world too completely we may lose the privacy we need to develop a self. Activities that require time and careful attention, like serious reading, are at risk; we read less and skim more as the Internet occupies more of our lives. And there’s a link between selfhood nad reading slowly, rather than scanning for quick information, as the Web encourages us to do. Recent work in sociology and psychology suggests that reading books, a private experience, is an important aspect to coming to know who we are.”

From WordPress

I didn’t get as much blog reading done this week as I’d have liked, but here is one post I did read and loved:

Then Matters Now: “The Biggest Lies in History

From My Reading

I’ve been really enjoying The Hunchback of Notre-Dame, now that I’ve made it through the slow beginning and the chapters of non-plot-related historical commentary. I was determined to stick it out because I did that with Hugo’s Les Miserables and was rewarded by a story I fell deeply for and will never get over. 🙂 I’m not sure yet if that will be true about Hunchback, but I think I’ll love it too. I’m definitely having fun walking around in fifteenth-century Paris!

And speaking of the fifteenth century, through reading Art Past Art Present this week I discovered that I really like Flemish painting from around that time period—for example, Pieter Bruegel, the Limbourghs, and Jan van Eyck. I like the realistic/naturalistic portrayals of people and their immediate surroundings, but most of all I love the little details and symbols placed in the backgrounds—like a tiny dog figurine on the corner of a bookshelf, for example—things you don’t see until you look closely. It’s fun!

In My Writing

Posts on my other blogs:

My CFS Story: Intro and Part 1 (The Crazy Beginning)
On CFS, My Curse and Blessing

Changing My Entire Identity: Songs that Helped Me Through
On My Post-God Life

I’ve been having fun writing some songs of my own this week too. 🙂

4 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. emilievardaman
    June 20, 2014

    Love the paragraph by Milkes. I don’t subscribe to the Times but will look for this online. Oops! I should go to the library, perhaps, and read it OFF line!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 20, 2014

      I don’t subscribe to the Times either; this article is free online. But yeah, reading it offline might be more fitting! 🙂

      Like

  2. typosandterseness
    June 20, 2014

    I read the NYT article and enjoyed it but disagreed with the author’s concluding statements about how we should have hope because the youth of today are “the most fervent and loyal readers on the planet.” I teach first-year composition to university students and most of them were not read to as children and therefore have not developed a love of reading. They would definitely not identify as “fervent readers.” Maybe Mikics’ experience in New York is different but I don’t think his claim can be considered universal.

    Thanks for linking to this article!

    Like

  3. Sarrah J. Woods
    June 20, 2014

    You know, I thought the exact same thing when I read that statement. I understand where he’s coming from, with all the hype generated by YA fiction these days, but I’m with you—I need more proof. Like you, I know plenty of teens and young adults who have never developed confident reading skills, and it saddens me.

    Good thinking; thanks for bringing that up.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2014 by in Cat Photos, Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , , , , .
