A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

Recently, spectacularly blooming in my yard

Recently, spectacularly blooming in my yard

Odds and ends from my mental inbox this week…

From Articles

For a change, here is a visual article, in the form of graphic/comic strip: “How Big Media Drowned Out the Rest of Us” from Yes! Magazine. Its message has definitely got me thinking.

From WordPress

Some posts I especially liked this week:

101 Books: “Your Search Questions Answered: The 20 Greatest Hits!”

Eye on the Universe: “On answering ‘What is your religion?’ in a predominantly religious community”

t h i n g s + f l e s h: “truth + lies”

ISA Student Blog“French Culture Lesson 101”

From My Reading

While browsing through Reader’s Digest July 2014, I saw this poignant quote from actor Bill Murray:

“Take what you love and make it the way you live your life, and that way, you bring love into the word.”

I finished reading the ninth book in Alexander McCall Smith’s series The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. It was lovely as always and full of thoughtful nuggets:

“Evil repaid with retribution, with punishment, had achieved half its goal; evil repaid with kindness was shown to be what it really was, a small, petty thing, not something frightening at all, but something pitiable, a paltry affair.”
—The Miracle at Speedy Motors, p. 205

In My Writing

Posts on my other blogs:

CFS, My Curse and Blessing: “My CFS Story, Part 2: The Rising Action”

My Post-God Life: “Being an Atheist = Disappointing Friends and Family”

Also, this week my relationship with the main character of the novel I’m working on deepened unexpectedly when I realized that she is much more like a friend of mine than she is like me. This realization helped me see through both of their eyes better. Cool!

2 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. emilievardaman
    June 27, 2014

    Oh, dear. Now I have a lot more to read this week! Thanks – I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. typosandterseness
    June 27, 2014

    I love the idea of a “weekly mind cleanup.” I have so many things swirling around in my brain that it would be great to get into the habit of doing something like this every week. Thanks for the inspiration (and more to read as well!).

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , , .
