A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Discovering the Joy of Camping

“To the body and mind which have been cramped by noxious work or company, nature is medicinal and restores their tone.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature

My family never went camping when I was young, so I never knew the joy of camping until I first went with my husband. Oh, how glorious it is to get away from everything (including cell phone service) and be completely surrounded by nature! I don’t think I’m ever as fully relaxed as I feel when I’m camping.

To reprise a little poem I wrote last year while camping:

The stream plunks a melody over the rocks.
Above us, sparrows sing along.
Our campfire cracks a snare drum’s line—
This is by far my favorite song.

Here are a few more photos to help you celebrate camping with me:

2 comments on “Discovering the Joy of Camping

  1. Rose
    July 7, 2014

    Those pictures take me back! I love to camp; haven’t been able to in awhile for numerous reasons. Love especially the “unplugging” of it all. So happy for you that you could go!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , , .
