A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Weekly Mind Cleanup

 

The Reading Room at the British Museum

Sorting out my mental inbox this week…

From Articles

So, apparently someone who lived at our address before us was a graduate of Northerastern Univeristy and hasn’t been missing his alumni magazines. Guess who’s been enjoying them instead? 🙂 They’re surpringly full of interesting information and articles, such as this one (which is online, too, which means I can share it with you!), about a cool study of how we form our decisions about whether to trust other people: “Trusty robot helps us understand human social cues” by Angela Herring. 

From WordPress

Blog posts I especially liked:

Higher Learning: “Why Students Chose to Shock Themselves Rather than Sit Alone with Their Thoughts”

CounselingRx: “The Best Way to Talk to Yourself”

Gluten Free Adventures & M.E.: “Demystification of Meditation”

Biblioklept: “Ten Story Ideas from F. Scott Fitgerald’s Notebook”

From My Reading

I’ve been reading about the Great Depression in Twentieth Century USA, and it’s giving me a better understanding of the complexities of the U.S. economy—now as well as then. 

In My Writing

Posts on my other blogs this week:

CFS, My Curse and Blessing: “Why My Illness Is Also a Blessing”

My Post-God Life: “Stepping Stones on My Path Out of Christianity”

Lately I’ve been engaging in debates about religion with another blogger, Jason Trivium. That’s not really my cup of tea, but since Jason almost always posts responses to my original posts, I feel compelled to defend what I’ve said. It’s been really good for me, I think, to practice speaking my truth clearly, firmly, courageously, and, I hope, honorably.

One comment on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. judygurfein
    July 11, 2014

    Thanks for linking to us!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , , .
