A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

 

The crepe myrtle currently beautifying our backyard

Clippings from my mind’s commonplace book this week…

From WordPress

I didn’t get to read as many blogs as I wanted to this week (well, not that I ever do! But here are a couple of blog posts I especially liked:

Nothing Figured Out: Kinship with a Homeless Veteran

My Own Bowl of Chrries: Does Size (of dreams) Matter?

From My Reading

I just loved this passage in The Hunchback of Notre-Dame. The desperate Archbishop wants to use the free-spirited, vagrant philosopher Gringoire for a dangerous undertaking, and he skeptically asks Gringoire:

“What can you have to attach you so strongly to life?”

“Ah, a thousand attachments!”

“What are they, pray tell.”

“What are they? The air, the sky, the morning, the evening, the moonlight, my good friends the Truands, our romps with the good-natured damsels, the beautiful architectural works of Paris to study, three big books to write, one of them against the bishop and his mills—I know not what else. Anaxagoras used to say he had been put in the world just to admire the sun. And then, I have the happiness of passing all my days, from morning till evening, with a man of genius, who is me, and that’s very pleasant.”

The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo, trans. Walter J. Cobb, Signet Classic, 2001)

Did you catch that funny line at the end? For the record, I think the Archbishop, with his thoughts so skewed by dark desperation, actually has no chance of understanding Gringoire’s rose-colored attitude. There’s more to our outlooks on life than simple resolution.

From My Writing

Posts on my other blogs:

My Post-God Life: How Far Should We Take Open-mindedness?

CFS, My Curse and Blessing: I Have Chronic Stress Syndrome

I’ve had a very productive week! I’ve made good progress on two of my long-term projects, the memoir and the nonfiction book, and I have two articles almost ready to submit for possible publication. Plus, business is booming for my freelance writing business, S.J. Woods Writing! Hooray! I love writing!!!

2 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. emilievardaman
    July 18, 2014

    So glad you’re making progress on your books. How good that must feel! i got 1/3 of the way into a book about ten years ago. I knew exactly how it would end, but I couldn’t figure out the middle! I haven’t gone back to it in some time.
    Loved that last line from Hunchback. Thanks!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 18, 2014

      Thanks, Emilie! It does feel good to make progress. I read so slowly—both because I like to fully absorb each sentence and because I keep so many books going at once—that making substantial progress in a book is a rare feeling for me. 🙂

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , .
