A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Discovering the Fun of Yard Sale Shopping

I was making a little photo display of some items I bought recently at yard sales, and Marvin wanted to be in the photo–even though I told him that I got him at a shelter, not a yard sale. 🙂

I always thought going to yard sales was a mildly fun Saturday activity, but then my husband introduced me to the fun of serious yard sale shopping. He doesn’t just shop; he does the “picking” thing of searching for potentially valuable antiques to then resell at a higher price (sometimes after a bit of clean-up). I’m not so much into that myself, though it is interesting to learn about antiques with him. For me, the fun of yard sale shopping is…

1) hanging out with him on a sunny Saturday morning,

2) seeing all the different people who live in the area and all the different kinds of stuff they have (okay, and sometimes actually talking to the people, too, as I gradually overcome my irrational shyness about intruding on their territory),

and, of course–

3) hoping to find good deals on things I need or want!

All of the items in my photo were “wants,” obviously. But I did get a new toaster recently for $1, after my old one broke (so it was arguably a “need”); the $1 one is still functioning perfectly. I just didn’t think it was pretty enough to merit inclusion in my photo.

And if I ever have kids, I know where to cheaply buy good clothes and toys and just about anything else kid-related!

As soon as I get out of the car at a yard sale, I scan for books. If I see them, I make a beeline over! Sometimes I’m not interested in the selection, but since I’ll read just about anything, I tend to find something I want more often than not. Then the question is just whether I’m willing to spend the pocket change on it.

Then—off to the next one!

4 comments on “Discovering the Fun of Yard Sale Shopping

  1. Cecilia
    July 21, 2014

    You got some good finds! There are so many yard sales around me but I have not really taken advantage of them, mainly because I would have to take my son along and he has too many things around the house as it is. But I agree that they can be great fun. We had our own yard sale last year. It was a huge success, but a lot of work!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 22, 2014

      Yep, you pointed out the one downside of yard sale shopping: it means more junk to bring into one’s already-cluttered house! I comfort myself with the knowledge that we are going to have our own yard sale soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. georgetteann
    July 21, 2014

    I enjoyed this post. The place where I live is a small, historic town with many antique shops. While I rarely buy anything, I find it fascinating to sift through the belongings of people who lived decades ago. It’s as though each item has a story to tell.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 22, 2014

      Your town sounds really fun! I too like the storytelling sense of antique items, more and more as I hang out with my husband and learn more about the history of those eras.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , , .
