A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Why I Am a Non-judgmental Vegetarian

This is one of my favorite vegetarian recipes, which I usually make in the winter, because it’s so warming and filling. It’s called Sweet Potato and Black Bean Casserole. It contains rice, edamame (young soy beans), and cheese, among other ingredients. Don’t think we vegetarians go around hungry!

Apparently some vegetarians have a snobby attitude about it. On behalf of the rest of us, allow me to apologize for their behavior!

Vegetarianism is the preference I have chosen for myself, but I don’t think other people are wrong for choosing differently.

I do hope to influence people—but not necessarily to become vegetarians. What matters more to me is that people think and talk about the ethics of how humans treat other animals. There’s much to be discussed there, and open dialogue is much better than rigid thinking—which is what the snobby vegetarians demonstrate.

There are other ways to support animal rights than by being a vegetarian, starting with just being aware of the concerns. If you’d like to increase your own awareness, PETA has a lot of reader-/viewer-friendly material about the concerns I’m referring to.

And not everyone can be a vegetarian, I believe. My best friend would like to be one for ethical reasons, but her body gets really weak if she goes for too long without eating meat. For whatever reason, mine doesn’t. Just making sure I get enough protein to balance out my other food groups seems to work just fine for me. (I have an acronym I rely on constantly to remember my main protein sources: L.E.N.D.: legumes, eggs, nuts, dairy.)

My husband is not only a meat-eater, but also a hunter. Early on in our relationship, we agreed to disagree on this issue and to be flexible, accepting, and open-minded with each other about it. It’s just really not a make-or-break type of thing. I would even say that I don’t think it is “right” for him to be a vegetarian, because that’s just not where he is—and he not only has perfectly valid reasons for his choices, but he’s also conscious of and concerned about the bigger issues. So in other words, I don’t think everyone necessarily should be a vegetarian.

So, I am a vegetarian, but if you’re not, that’s okay with me; I hope my choice is similarly okay with you. If it is, good for us: we are being respectably rational in our attitudes about our differences!

6 comments on “Why I Am a Non-judgmental Vegetarian

  1. biblioglobal
    July 23, 2014

    I find that just mentioning that I am vegetarian, people assume that I am judging them and start to get defensive. I definitely agree with you though that not everyone should be a vegetarian, but that it is good for everyone to think about the consequences of what they eat.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 23, 2014

      Thanks for stopping over, biblioglobal! Great point, and it captures the reason behind my post. So many vegetarians are snobby about it that people just automatically get defensive when others say they’re vegetarians. It’s like vegetarianism and judging go hand in hand. *Head smack* Grow up, people! Judging is immature!

      Like

  2. Rose
    July 23, 2014

    First off, that casserole looks delish!

    I think biblio is right, in that as soon as someone says they are a vegetarian, people start getting defensive. I start getting curious, personally, just because I think it is an interesting choice. Which is what it all is: a choice.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 23, 2014

      Thanks, Rose! I know, it’s a bizarrely tenacious trend, and an immature one, I think, as I was just saying in reply to biblioglobal. Good for you: getting curious instead of defensive is a much more mature and much better reaction!

      Like

  3. georgetteann
    July 23, 2014

    Great post! I was never a big meat eater, but I gave it up for good in my mid-twenties when pregnant with my first child. I find in my forties that I have none of the health problems that some of my friends do…high cholesterol, high blood pressure, chronic heartburn, etc. I really believe my diet has a lot to do with my good health. However, I come from a long line of meat eaters, so like you, I am not a “veggie snob.” 🙂

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 24, 2014

      That’s great—on all counts! Thanks for sharing your experience here, Georgette.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , , .
