A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Weekly Mind Cleanup

638CCC56-B168-46CA-AE65-6F552CC1C642-170-00000028BC045FA0_zps5eccbc43

A summer scene here in West Virginia

Scraps from my mind’s inbox this week…

From Articles

Yes! Magazine: “Infographic: Why Social Security’s Not Going Broke: A Non-hysterical Look at a System that’s Working
This was an interesting and accessible perspective on a hot-button issue.

From WordPress

I got to read more blogs this week; here are some posts I read and loved:

The Double Life of Mrs. M: “Reflections on Turning 40”
What a wealth of life wisdom this woman has gathered so far!

a walk on the bright side: “Fading Fast”
A high school English teacher’s lovely description of the joys of teaching.

Biblioglobal: “Reading the world logarithmically”
This person is my newest hero. I’m not even joking.

Time’s Flow Stemmed: “The problem with history”
Anthony reports an important point about history books that describe horrific events with casual coolness. Plus, this post sheds new light on one of my favorite poems.

Small Potatoes: “Therapeutic Play Dough with Essential Oils”
What a great idea!

The Bookshelf of Emily J.: “Harry Potter, the Hero Cycle, and Cinderella”
I love the hero cycle and talking about stories in terms of archetypes and myths. By the way, The Lion King is also a hero cycle story.

From My Reading

In First French Reader (ed. Stanley Applebaum), I found this excellent maxim from François Duc De La Rouchefoucald, who lived in the 1600s (I hadn’t heard of him before); here’s the full text of his Maxims there in case you’re interested.

“The moderation shown by fortunate people comes from the calm that good luck gives their nature.”

In French: “La modération des personnes heureuses vient du calme que la bonne fortune donne á leur humeur.”

From My Writing

Posts on my other blogs this week:

CFS, My Curse and Blessing: In Praise of the Ideal Doctor (Who Must Be Out There Somewhere)

My Post-God Life: Ode to the Preacher

I’ve been working my way through the fiction writing exercises at the end of John Gardner’s The Art of Fiction. I’m finding that really helpful for getting a better handle on the craft of writing fiction—plus, it’s fun!

 

 

4 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. georgetteann
    July 25, 2014

    Sarrah, thank you so much for including my post this week…I’m honored! I always enjoy your weekly mind cleanup; I have found many great blogs and writers with similar interests through your suggestions. And I’m so glad I found your blog early on. You are indeed a bringer of new things! Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 25, 2014

      Thank you, Georgette! Finding likeminded people, such as you, through blogging has been a wonderful surprise and encouragement.

      Have a great day, and good luck as you start your new school year. I think I already told you—if I had another life to live, I would be an English teacher. I didn’t have good English teachers in high school, myself; I’m so grateful for the English teachers like you out there who are committed to the task of preparing young minds for adulthood.

      Like

  2. emilievardaman
    July 25, 2014

    Busy woman!
    I read that piece on Social Security. Our country SO needs to focus on things here at home. I also just read about major cuts in personnel across all Army bases, or maybe all military bases. Now i do not recall.
    I kept thinking: rather than cut all these people and leave them with no job and unable to afford rent/house payment, let’s keep them on the payroll and put them to work here, at home, rebuilding our infrastructure. Weatherizing low and moderate income homes. Solarizing our country so we can become less dependent on fossils fuels. There is SO much these folks can do for our country!
    If people with low and moderate income had lower energy costs, they would have more disposable income. This would recycle that money back into the economy. This could create jobs, and the surplus military folks could start going back into private sector work.
    Oh, dear. What a rant!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      July 25, 2014

      Good thoughts, Emilie! These problems can get complex, and I too like to think outside the box about possible solutions.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , , .
