A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Weekly Mind Cleanup

Calla lilly from my parents' yard

Calla lilly from my parents’ yard

I hope you’ve all had good weeks. Mine’s been pretty rough, as I haven’t felt very well. I’m looking forward to the weekend! Here are just a few things for this week’s Weekly Mind Cleanup:

From WordPress

I discovered some new blogs this week that I already LOVE:

The Life of a Fluro Zebra: Life Is Always Better in Fluro!
Explanation is called for here: this blog is written by a ten-year-old Australian girl who suffers from chronic pain but uses her blog to inspire optimism, fun, and smiles in herself and others. I feel a kindred spirit with this girl! Also, it took me a while to figure out what “fluro” meant, but I finally realized it means “florescent” (and a Google search just confirmed that).

And, on an entirely different but not entirely unrelated note:

Onehungryghost: Living with Poverty, Disability and an Active Mind
I’m glad to have discovered this new blog—it’s not often you find someone so articulate about the issues listed in the blog subtitle. I look forward to reading more!

From My Reading

I’ve been reading John Grisham’s The Rainmaker and enjoying it. It’s nice for a change of pace; most of the fiction I read is more character-driven, but I enjoy a good plot-driven thriller as much as the next consumer. This one is perhaps slower-paced than his other novels, though, but I like it; I also like the lack of rough, graphic content (what can I say, I like sweetness) and the story’s driving values of justice, ethicality, and basic human decency.

In My Writing

Posts on my other blogs:

My Post-God Life: Reevaluating a Quote I Used to Love

CFS, My Curse and Blessing: Some Things that Have Helped Me Lately

This week in my writing life I’ve needed to keep my mind firmly on the task set for the chunk of time right in front of me, and not look farther ahead or think about writing, or I’ll get stressed out. “Be in the moment,” “do the next thing,” and “one day at a time” are all appropriate mantras for me right now.

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups and tagged , , .
