A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Weekly Mind Cleanup

A colorful stage of a recipe I made recently, a zucchini & tomato casserole

Bits and pieces from my mental inbox this week…

From Articles

On Medium: “Waking Up Is Hard to Do” by Kevin Roose
I absolutely loved this article about the author’s step-by-step attempts to help himself wake up better in the mornings. I was impressed by the systematic approach and the research he did, and I came away with several ideas to try for myself. I’m looking forward to the next installments in this writer’s “Self-bettering” series.

From WordPress

Nillu Nasser Stelter, Fiction & Freelance Writer: “Violence and Complicity”
I loved this brave meditation on the violence that happens around the world and our reactions (or lack of reactions) to it, including our growing prejudice against Muslims—not all of whom are terrorists, people!! This post is more about expressing the feelings involved and posing thought-provoking questions than it is about trying to solve the big issues, and I like that.

a walk on the bright side: “Good Times”
This is a short, lovely post from a mother’s perspective on spending time with her teenage daughter. As I commented there, I hear so many negative accounts of teenager-parent relationships that this was really refreshing and encouraging to me.

From My Reading

I finished Grisham’s The Rainmaker, and the ending surprised me by being much better than I thought it would be. I really liked that book! (Plus, as I always do with Grisham, I learned some new legal terms and concepts.)

I also finished The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo and was, unfortunately, quite severely disappointed. I hated it! I still don’t want to spoil it for anyone who does want to read it, but I certainly don’t recommend it. Stick to Les Miserables.

In My Writing

Posts on my other blogs this week:

CFS, My Curse and Blessing: “Eating is Exhausting”

My Post-God Life: “Opposing Christianity’s Worship of Self-denial”

A radio song, “Try” by P!nk, has served me with a theme/mantra for my writing life this week and last week: “Where there is desire, there is gonna be a flame. / Where there is a flame, someone’s bound to get burned. / Just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die– / You gotta get up and try, and try, and try.” 

5 comments on “Weekly Mind Cleanup

  1. emilievardaman
    August 22, 2014

    Sarrah, I read both articles (waking up and violence) and loved them both.

    The hatred expressed toward Muslim for the action of some is always astounding to me. I have Muslim friend and Muslim relatives. That span three continents and three races. They are all peaceful, warm, and kind people.

    We forget that almost every internal act of terror or mass murder done in this country was done by white men, some calling themselves Christian. Yet one attack by Muslim extremists, and as a country, we fear and hate them. Based on our history here, it is white Christian men we should fear!

    But no one does.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      August 22, 2014

      Emilie,

      Hear, hear! I completely agree with you. Well-said!

      Thanks for sharing these thoughts. I wish more people thought about this the way you do!

      Sarrah

      Like

  2. georgetteann
    August 23, 2014

    Thank you so much, Sarrah! I’m so glad you enjoyed my post. Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stefanie
    August 26, 2014

    Your recipe in progress looks so pretty!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2014 by in Mind Cleanups and tagged , , , , , , , , .
