A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Perseverance on the Traffic-jammed Road of Writing for $

untitledSometimes you have to take the road much traveled in order to get to the road less traveled.

I want to bring great and unique gifts to the world as a writer, but I can’t start out there. There’s no skipping the beginner stage. I have to do the work, put in the time, and learn the craft and business. It’s not glamorous or ego-boosting, but it’s the road I have to take.

I saw a quote yesterday in the current issue of Reader’s Digest—a quote from an Entertainment Weekly article featuring Maggie Shipstead, novelist, who said,

“In our culture, we have these twin myths: One is that genius falls fully formed from the sky, and people who are truly brilliant don’t have to work. The other is that anyone can do anything. Neither is remotely true.”

How insightful! Greatness requires not only the seed of talent but also the rain and sun of experience and hard work. I’m reminded of the famous Thomas Edison quote:

“Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.”

Remembering these principles bolsters my courage and determination as I plunge forward into the crowded, whirling waters of career writing. I’m sticking limbs in at various spots—freelance magazine writing, freelance writing for business clients, writing and submitting my own stuff, and, of course, blogging (for experience and expression rather than direct $). It’s all fun, but some days I do feel daunted and discouraged. But that’s part of the package.

So I keep pressing forward.

4 comments on “Perseverance on the Traffic-jammed Road of Writing for $

  1. emilievardaman
    August 25, 2014

    Writing is hard work. But it is pleasurable, too. When something strikes me and I can run with it, the feeling is wonderful. It’s a high. I don’t want it to end.
    Just wish it would happen for me with some longer pieces!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MeredithMorckel
    August 25, 2014

    I’m in the same boat! I wish I could skip the beginner stage of freelance writing. Perhaps I should focus on building a time machine and skip ahead 5 years 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      August 25, 2014

      Thanks for saying so, Meredith; it’s so nice to have camaraderie in this experience!

      And I like your time machine idea!

      Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

