A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

My Newspaper Op-ed Article: “Why I’m Giving Up My Smart Phone”

I recently submitted an op-ed piece to my local newspaper, and it ran today! It’s called “Why I’m Giving Up My Smart Phone.” You can read it here. Some of the ideas may sound familiar to you, though, my faithful readers!

8 comments on “My Newspaper Op-ed Article: “Why I’m Giving Up My Smart Phone”

  1. emilievardaman
    September 1, 2014

    Interesting. My iPhone is my only phone. Sounds like your smart phone is your only one, too.
    I purchased a use package that allows only a minimum amount of data, so I just don’t use my phone for email, blogs, anything. I call and text, take and post some photos, and keep my calendar.
    However, since I do have a little data, I can use it if I really need to, and it acts as a mobile hot spot so I can download my email to my iPad. I can do this a few times a month and stay within my data allotment.
    It’s an expensive phone for doing only this, but it serves my needs well, is paid for, and is NOT going to be replaced any time soon!
    Sarrah, best of luck to you!

    Like

  2. Ruth Smith
    September 1, 2014

    I gave up my smart phone nearly 2 years ago. I am happy with just a phone and texting but am currently shopping for a smart phone. I don’t intend to go back to that life. I simply want a handy camera and have been disappointed with the MP3 players I have tried. I don’t want an iPod. I have finally found a service that will allow the better phone without all of the services. I will let you know how I do with this experiment.:)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 2, 2014

      Hi Ruth, my sweet friend and kindred spirit! Thanks for leaving a comment. I’m so glad you understand how I feel!

      Like

  3. casblomberg
    September 2, 2014

    I can’t imagine giving it up. I do try and set boundaries with it, though. No using the phone when we’re talking in the house, when we go somewhere and do something as a family, at the dinner table, things like that.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 2, 2014

      Thanks for commenting! That’s great that you do set boundaries for your family’s tech use. I wish more people had enough self-awareness to do that!

      Like

  4. Stefanie
    September 5, 2014

    Wonderful article! I have avoided getting a smartphone for many of the reasons you are giving yours up. I just have voice and text and that’s it. I don’t want to be one of those zombie walking around looking at their phone instead of being in the place they are. Good luck making the change!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 5, 2014

      Hooray! I’m so glad to find another kindred spirit! (Which reminds me that I’ve been meaning to go back and read your past posts, as time and energy allow.) Here’s to not being zombies!

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , .
