A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

For the Love of Tea

As I’ve mentioned before, I adore tea. When I’m in Kroger or another big grocery store, the shelves full of different varieties of tea are like a candy display to me; I can lose myself standing in front of those shelves looking at all the different tea flavors.

Happily, tea is a pleasure I can share with most of my family and friends. I’ve started hosting occasional “Tea Tastings” as a get-together for some of my girlfriends. We all bring several tea flavors and we sip, snack, and talk. (My first thought was to call it a “tea party,” but that not only sounds quaint/childish but now has political associations, too; so I decided to borrow from the term “wine tasting” to create a new, fun name for my get-togethers!) 

I probably spend too much of my food budget on tea—it’s hard to resist!—and I’m always looking for cheap but good brands, whether sold by bulk or by boxes of individually wrapped tea bags. 

I love almost every kind of tea, but there are a few I only like: I’m not wild about oolang, jasmine, or white tea for some reason. In past years I didn’t like ginger tea, but I’ve come to really love it now, so maybe those other teas will grow on me too. 

Here are a few of my absolute favorite tea flavors: 

Black

  • Bigelow’s Plantation Mint
  • Bigelow’s Constant Comment
  • Bigelow’s Spiced Chai
  • Most chai, earl gray, and lemon or peach flavored black teas

 Green

  • Lipton’s Honey Lemon

 Herbal

  • Culinary Circle’s Roobios Chai
  • Bigelow’s Perfect Peach
  • Celestial Seasonings’s Sleepytime
  • Celestial Seasonings’s Jammin’ Lemon Ginger
  • Most mint, chamomile, and fruity herbal teas 

Remember this quote? “Tea is a temporary solution to the cares of the world.” That’s so true in my experience!

4 comments on “For the Love of Tea

  1. smellwelsh
    September 3, 2014

    Have you tried fennel tea? I love it! I love aniseed and its so good for heartburn! Haha

    Like

  2. Stefanie
    September 5, 2014

    I’m a coffee girl myself. I love the way it smells and tastes. I do enjoy tea now and then, mint is great on a cold winter evening to take out the chill, echinacea is comforting when I’m not feeling well, and jasmine is yummy with Asian meals. And in summer a raspberry iced tea is delicious on a hot day, otherwise, coffee with a little soy milk, no sugar please 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2014 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , .
