A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Lovely Moments

A photo I took on a visit to Santa Fe, New Mexico several years ago

A photo I took on a visit to Santa Fe, New Mexico several years ago

Lovely moments in my life this past week…

* Going on a fun dinner-and-a-movie date with my husband on Friday evening (we ate Mexican and saw The Giver)

* Sitting on the deck late one evening last week, even after the cats had gone back inside one by one, and listening to the cicadas, birds, and bats

* Literally cutting and pasting looseleaf pages on which I’d written ideas for the plot of a novel into a composition notebook, for easy flipping and because composition notebooks are just fun 🙂

* Riding with my dad to and from a visitation at a funeral home outside of town: the scenery on the drive was very pretty, and we had a nice time talking about various topics

* Spending extra time on my hair on Sunday, straightening it (which I rarely do) and then enjoying the sleek look of it

4 comments on “Lovely Moments

  1. kroquepot
    September 9, 2014

    So beautiful!!! This makes me want to take a vacation (just because). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ngan R.
    September 9, 2014

    Lovely! Did you like The Giver? I love the book and am horrified by the movie promos. So nice to hear about your lovely moments.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stefanie
    September 9, 2014

    Really lovely moments! How was The Giver?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarrah J. Woods
    September 12, 2014

    Thanks for the comments, all!

    Stefanie and Ngan, The Giver was pretty good. I had been wondering how they were going to make it into a movie: basically, they just added a bunch of layers and action to the ending to make it more movie-like. They also added characters, of course. I enjoyed it more than my husband, I think; he hadn’t read the book and couldn’t accept the un-scientific premise of literal collective memory. But as far as the acting, filming, and overall experience, I definitely enjoyed it!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2014 by in Lovely Moments, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , .
