A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Blogging Hiatus: Off to Follow the Muse

Some beauty I discovered recently

Well, I need to declare a blogging hiatus again. My inner muse/ creative spirit that is the boss* of my writing is currently not wanting to blog.

*(that is, boss of what I’m writing; my inner parent/commitment to self-care is, ideally, the boss of whether I’m writing at any given time)

In other words, I’ve been hankering after other writing projects more than after blogging lately. I’ve been feeling kind of breathless about blogging, like: “Hang on, world! Slow down so I can figure out what I’m going to write next and then write it!” That means I need a break.

I’m sure my drive for blogging will return, as it always has so far and as my writing projects generally always do. 

And I’ll probably be lurking, as I have been lately, reading your blogs and probably commenting too when I can—because unlike some other times, this time I’m not over-saturated with input (clamping my hands over my ears and whimpering, “Everyone please stop talking so I can think!”) but rather feeling squeezed on my output.

But I just bought two new composition notebooks (I love back-to-school season!)—you know, the black-and-white marble-painted kind with bound pages—and I’m absurdly excited to write stories, poems, and song lyrics in one and a novel in the other. I’m also still working on the memoir (typing up my old journal entries); that project may also be part of why I’m wanting to take my writing offline and inward for a while.

So that’s where I’ll be until the muse changes the wind.

“To learn to write is to learn to have ideas.” – Robert Frost

8 comments on “Blogging Hiatus: Off to Follow the Muse

  1. emilievardaman
    September 12, 2014

    I understand but I’ll miss your posts. Occasional cat photos, perhaps? Wish I knew how to post here a photo of my wonderful kitty for you.
    Or maybe a little pice of your memoir now and again.
    Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 12, 2014

      Thank you, Emilie! That’s really sweet. I may not be gone for long! If I am, I will definitely try to pop in with some kitty photos or creative bits. You’ve brightened my day, thanks again!

      Like

  2. georgetteann
    September 12, 2014

    Good luck to you! 🙂

    Like

  3. jessieadora
    September 12, 2014

    Will miss your posts, but good luck with the new writing projects!! Gotta follow that muse… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MeredithMorckel
    September 13, 2014

    Return soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rosanna
    September 19, 2014

    I hope your blogging hiatus is giving you all the time to write in your new notebooks,,,,write on!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 19, 2014

      Thank you! Yes, I am still feeling rather delirious in the joy of simple notebook writing. 🙂 Cheers!

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2014 by in Discoveries from Writing, Nature Photos and tagged , , .
