A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Idea: Eliminate Political Campaigns and Empower the People Instead

What if we came together as a society and put a taboo on political campaigning and established in its place a routine like this? Candidates would be expected to give a little money and a summary of their information (experience, credentials, positions on issues, goals for office, etc.) for the publication of an official booklet that lists the information for every candidate and is then distributed freely to all registered voters and put online too. Beyond that, debates, panels, and Q&A sessions would be acceptable, but not the empty rhetoric and mud-throwing we get in political speeches and ads now. Signs, commercials, and other types of shameless self-promotion would be frowned upon.

I think that would be SO much more fair, rational, wise, ethical, and effective.

And just think of all the good things that could be done with the money saved!

I’m an idea person; usually someone has to come along and say, “Honey, that’s a nice idea, but it wouldn’t work because _____.” So, tell me, why wouldn’t this work, in an age when grassroots efforts can gather more power than ever before through the internet?

I’m sure we’re all relieved that the onslaught of desperate campaign ads has stopped for now…but they’ll be back, unless we change something!

By Ordoon (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Ordoon (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

2 comments on “Idea: Eliminate Political Campaigns and Empower the People Instead

  1. emilievardaman
    November 6, 2014

    I think this is a big piece of what could work. I’d like to see a few debates, too.

    And I would be okay with two or three ads that focus ONLY on what the candidate wants to accomplish, and those ads shouldn’t be on ad nauseum. I could skip the ads completely if I simply had solid information.

    Actually, I DO skip the ads! I don’t have TV and I get no radio reception except from México!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      November 6, 2014

      Thanks for commenting, Emilie. Yes, I feel that solid information about candidates is absurdly hard to come by. Some of them have informative websites, but not all of them, at least on the local level where I’m from.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

