A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

I’m Alive: A Song of Gratitude

Photo from our Hawaii wedding trip :)

Photo from our Hawaii wedding trip 🙂

These are the lyrics of a song I wrote several months ago that fit with the spirit of Thanksgiving. Maybe sometime I’ll record myself playing and singing the song for you. For now, I hope the words add to your celebration of thankfulness this week!

I’m Alive
Lyrics by Sarrah J. Woods

[Verse 1]

They say it’s not the years you live
But the life that’s in your years
I’m feeling so alive right now
I’m laughing through my tears

‘Cause there were nights I didn’t think I’d make it
But I got a second chance and I will take it

[Chorus]

I can’t believe my eyes
I’m standing here now
So loved, so full of blessings
I made it through somehow
The night was so long
But at last came the dawn
My heart is full of thanks
I sing and celebrate
I’m alive

[Verse 2]

It’s because of family, friends, and God
I’m breathing in this joy
I bow my head in gratitude
I raise my arms and voice

It’s been so long since I have felt this happy
My heart feels like a hundred hands all clapping

[Chorus]

I can’t believe my eyes
I’m standing here now
So loved, so full of blessings
I made it through somehow
The night was so long
But at last came the dawn
My heart is full of thanks
I sing and celebrate
I’m alive

[Bridge]

The past is done
The victory won
No more nights of fear
Tomorrow’s new
The sky is blue
And right now I am here

[Chorus]

I can’t believe my eyes
I’m standing here now
So loved, so full of blessings
I made it through somehow
The night was so long
But at last came the dawn
My heart is full of thanks
I sing and celebrate
I’m alive

2 comments on “I’m Alive: A Song of Gratitude

  1. emilievardaman
    November 28, 2014

    A wonderful Thanksgiving song!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2014 by in Creative Writings, Other Photos and tagged , , , , , , , .
