A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Celebrating Spring

kjhkjh

Spring last year in my beautiful home state, West Virginia

 

I am so excited that it’s finally spring! Somehow I missed the first day of spring, which I usually count down to. But I’ve been “down for the count” myself lately, laid low by a cold and sinus infection—ick. But happily I’m now on the mend and ready to jump for joy at the sight of newly blooming daffodils and tulips!

To celebrate, here is a lovely description of spring I found when I was reading Anna Karenina. Happy spring!

“Spring was slow in unfolding…On Thursday the wind dropped, and a thick gray fog brooded over the land as though hiding the mysteries of the transformations that were being wrought in nature. Behind the fog there was the flowing of water, the cracking and floating of ice, the sift rush of turbid, foaming torrents; and on the following Monday, in the evening, the fog parted, the storm-clouds split up into little curling crests of cloud, the sky cleared, and the real spring had come. In the morning the sun rose brilliant and quickly wore away the thin layer of ice that covered the water, and all the warm air was quivering with the steam that rose up from the quickened earth. The old grass looked greener…Larks trilled unseen above the velvety green fields…The cattle, bald in patches where the new hair had not grown yet, lowed in the pastures…Nimble children ran about the drying paths, covered with the prints of bare feet. There was a merry chatter of peasant women over their linen at the pond, and the ring of axes in the yard, where the peasants were repairing ploughs and harrows. The real spring had come.”

Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina, Part II, Chapter XII

6 comments on “Celebrating Spring

  1. Inspiration Indulgence
    March 25, 2015

    It just snowed 4 inches here in wisconsin…ugh soon enough!!!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      March 25, 2015

      Oh man! I lived in Wisconsin for 4 years, actually, so I remember. Your state is beautiful, too, but I am definitely glad to be back farther south!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Inspiration Indulgence
        March 25, 2015

        Glad you can relate! I love Wisco and the seasons, but I would NOT MIND living at all south. AT ALL!!. I would move in a heartbeat if I wasn’t so connected to my family.

        Like

        • Sarrah J. Woods
          March 25, 2015

          I know what you mean. As much as I love West Virginia, if I didn’t have any family or roots here I think I’d move to Florida. I am pretty much solar-powered!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. emilievardaman
    March 26, 2015

    What a beautiful description of spring!
    It is spring here, for sure. (Southern Arizona) Although I too missed the official date (and I too usually do a countdown) the signs are everywhere.
    Days are warm and lazy, and it is not hot nor cold. I haven’t turned on any heat in days, and I have to remember to go out and water the plants. I feed the birds and enjoy their breakfast chatter.
    Dawn comes earlier and earlier which I love. Almost nothing is more depressing to me than to get up when it is still dark outside!

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

