A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Hello, Spring!

photo (3)

For the past few days this cheerful bloom has been greeting me every morning when I walk out the door. Even when I’m feeling tired and grumpy about going to work, it’s hard not to smile at this beauty!

Three cheers for spring! Hooray, hooray, hooray!

 

11 comments on “Hello, Spring!

  1. whatmeread
    April 2, 2015

    My daffodils didn’t come up this year, but I have lots of irises!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      April 2, 2015

      Ooh I love irises. Ours aren’t up yet.

      Like

      • whatmeread
        April 2, 2015

        I have only had one daffodil come up once (maybe it’s not cold enough in Texas), but it usually comes up first, so I know when I see my irises that I’m not going to see my daffodils. Sigh. I love daffodils!

        Like

        • Sarrah J. Woods
          April 2, 2015

          That’s really interesting—I never really thought about daffodils needing relatively cold weather, but of course it seems obvious now that I think of it. They are the only flower that’s up here right now, at least anywhere I’ve seen. Well, maybe you can enjoy this one vicariously! And I will try to vicariously enjoy your heat. 🙂

          Like

          • whatmeread
            April 2, 2015

            Good idea! My uncle and aunt had property with a wooded hill next to their house and in the spring, the woods were full of daffodils. When I move to Washington, I’m planning to plant tons of daffodils in my orchard! You can have my heat anytime!

            Like

  2. emilievardaman
    April 2, 2015

    Southern Arizona has been warm for weeks – too many weeks. It is supposed to cool a bit soon, thankfully.
    This is not to say I haven’t been enjoying the recent delicious days. I have! But they have come way too soon.
    We’ve also had more rain than is usual (though compared to much of the US, not much). Grasses and weeds have grown, and I fear fire season may come early and last far too long.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      April 3, 2015

      It’s always interesting to compare the weather of different years. I like to do the same with memories, too. My grandmother kept a five-year journal, which had a page for every day of the year and, on each page, five sets of blank lines, so she could always see what she had written on that same day in the preceding years. I think it’s really cool.

      Like

      • emilievardaman
        April 3, 2015

        I once had a TEN YEAR gardening book. When I left that place, I pitched the book and have always regretted doing so. I recorded when wildflowers bloomed, rain, highs and lows, winds, what got planted where and how it did, etc. I need to do it again!

        Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2015 by in Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , , .
