A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Short Quote

This is one of my very favorite quotes:

“You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers. You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.”
– Naguib Mahfouz

I want to be in the second category!

6 comments on “Short Quote

  1. Emilie Vardaman
    April 30, 2015

    I, too, would choose the second, but why not be both?

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      April 30, 2015

      Because the quote is setting up a contrast between people who think they know the answers and thus seem “clever” but are actually not wise and people who think they don’t know the answers and thus are truly wise.

      Too often I think I know how something should be, only to discover later how much I don’t know about it and how distorted my thinking has been.

      I’m not saying we should never hold opinions, but I want to hold every opinion I have (including this one!) very lightly, with the understanding that I could be wrong and that there’s much I don’t know, because I think that’s what it means to be wise.

      Like

  2. sponny29
    May 1, 2015

    I agree but I think I ask too many questions……lol

    Like

  3. sponny29
    May 1, 2015

    Love the blog

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2015 by in Quotes and tagged , , .
