A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

What She Was Giving: A Flash Fiction Story

This week’s Carrot Ranch flash fiction challenge is to write a 99-word story inspired by the following photo:

I’m afraid my entry is similar to my last one! Well, I’ll try again next time to break my pattern.

What She Was Giving

Erin did not feel like an A-list camp counselor. Every week her campers bickered, cried, and broke camp rules. So much for being a wise mentor, she thought, as her Week 5 campers noisily sorted themselves into lifejackets for lake swimming. It’s more like being a sheriff.

Letting the lifeguard play sheriff for the moment, Erin sat down on a rock and pulled her knees to her chest. As she gazed at the pine-cloaked mountains surrounding the lake, their colossal glory gradually shifted her perspective. I’m not here to give these girls advice, she realized, but this entire experience.

19 comments on “What She Was Giving: A Flash Fiction Story

  1. Megan
    May 28, 2015

    99 words is really hard to do. The smallest flash fiction I’ve ever been able to write was 500 words. You did it well though!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      May 29, 2015

      Thank you! What I do for these Carrot Ranch 99-word challenges is write as short a story as I can that fits the prompt, but it’s still usually around 200 words. Then I revise and chop chop chop until it’s down to 99! I love this challenge—it really helps me look for better and more concise ways of saying things.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Megan
        May 29, 2015

        It sounds like a really good exercise. I do the same thing for the 500 word flash fiction challenge, only I end up with 1,000 to 2,000 words on my first try. For some reason, all my stories come out within that word range. 🙂

        Like

      • LivingWithinHope
        May 29, 2015

        You’re good!

        Like

  2. emilievardaman
    May 28, 2015

    Very nice. Again!

    Like

  3. Charli Mills
    May 29, 2015

    You are writing deep wisdom in each flash. I like that vein! Your flash last week was inspirational for me to take that step in adventuring solo. And it was a great experience, healing even. The realization in this flash is that often times it isn’t what we can say, but the experience we can provide.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 3, 2015

      Thank you, Charli! I’m glad my thoughts resonated with you. And I’m even more glad to hear that you had a wonderful and healing trip!

      Like

  4. LivingWithinHope
    May 29, 2015

    Wow! Very good read! Very well written. Have you ever written a book and do you care to do a proofread of one of my short stories? Your posts are very interesting and insightful and I look forward to following them.

    Like

  5. I can’t put it better than Charli. The experience is often the teacher. Being there and being part of it is all part of that experience.

    Like

  6. TanGental
    May 30, 2015

    I think the ease with which you give us her dual perspective – one minute it’s crowd controller the next understanding the benefit of allowing them a holistic experience is perfectly pitched. Great flash.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 3, 2015

      Thank you so much! I’m glad to hear that you felt the shift in Erin’s perspective wasn’t too abrupt to be unbelievable. It sure was tricky to fit all that into 99 words! It’s definitely a great exercise.

      Liked by 1 person

      • TanGental
        June 3, 2015

        It’s the cruellest length Sarrah. But the brill thing you’ve worked out is to leave it to the reader and you did that expertly. It is extraordinary what you can get away with and still tell a coherent story.

        Like

  7. Pingback: Garden Parties « Carrot Ranch Communications

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2015 by in Creative Writings and tagged , , , .
