A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Vertical Again: A Poem

photo (3)

Here’s another little poem about nature’s power to restore my inner peace.

Vertical Again

The woods have a way of aligning me—
when I come bent over and beaten low
to a forest, where no one else can see
my face but quiet songbirds, moths, and doe,
my weights fall off, and the trees unify
their strength to pull my heart up toward the sky.

4 comments on “Vertical Again: A Poem

  1. emilievardaman
    June 5, 2015

    Lovely. I don’t have a forest here in the desert. I can drive about twenty-five miles to get into trees in the mountains, and at times I do. Or, I can go about fifteen miles to walk along the San Pedro River. Its many cottonwood trees provide a migratory route for many of our country’s birds. Those places feed me.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      June 5, 2015

      That sounds lovely. I am quite attached to forests and trees, but when I visited the Southwest I definitely enjoyed its dramatic beauty.

      Like

  2. Personal excellence
    June 6, 2015

    That was powerful. You have an amazing heart and mind. I enjoyed the read Sarah.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2015 by in Creative Writings, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , .
