A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

October Mind Cleanup

photo

I don’t have much “mind cleanup” to do for October, because in the earlier part of the month my brain was laid low by a cold (during which time I binge-watched Netflix and re-read The Hunger Games series for the third time—that made the second time this year…and I already want to read it again), and in the latter part of the month my mind has been pretty singularly focused on planning a novel to write in November for NaNoWriMo. But here are a few bits and pieces…

From WordPress

Windmills of the mind:The joys of creating for yourself
This is a lovely post about the importance of taking time for creative activities that are NOT for money (or the hopes of eventual money) but just for ourselves—purely for leisure, creative expression, and spiritual/inner wellness.

From My Reading

Aside from my comfort-food third-time re-reads (The Hunger Games series and also Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows), the only book I finished reading this month was Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy. I listened to it on audiobook, and I enjoyed it very much. This was my first Hardy novel, actually, so I wasn’t sure what to expect; the story pleased me by ending the way I hoped it would but surprising me with how it got there. I love when books do that!

I’m not sure what to call the story’s situation: instead of a love triangle, would it be a love quadrangle? love rectangle? love square? Hmm.

In My Writing

As I said, I’m going to do NaNoWriMo (if you are, too, add me as a buddy!), and I’m really excited about my novel. I hope it works out! It’s a young adult fantasy novel, but a different one from the one I’ve been plotting for years now and which I’ve put on the back burner yet again. That one has been a very slow simmer; maybe it always will be and I’ll never actually write it. But this new project is shaping up to be a quick boil!

In other writing news, I recently found out that an essay I had submitted to a new local indie magazine, The Charleston Anvil, will be published in the first issue, to be printed soon! The essay was actually a revision of my blog post “We Need You to Be Yourself.” A free small-town magazine isn’t much, I know, but nevertheless this was encouraging to me!

One comment on “October Mind Cleanup

  1. emilievardaman
    October 31, 2015

    I always consider the November writing challenge and always back away, perhaps next year …. But you? Go for it!

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2015 by in Mind Cleanups, Nature Photos and tagged , , , , , , , .
