A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

“There Is Only One Comment Card that I Pay Attention To”

 

Last night I did something unusual: I used our cable box’s DVR feature to rewind a TV show so that I could record a speech made by a character on the show (and it was a sitcom!). You are going to love this little speech. If you watch New Girl and saw the most recent episode on Tuesday, then you’ve already heard it and loved it.

“When are you going to stop worrying about what people say? When I look into my suggestion box, it is full. People have a lot to say about the way I live my life. But there is only one comment card that I pay attention to. And you know what that card says? It says, ‘Great job. Now keep it up.’ And you know who filled out that card? Me.”

New Girl, season 5 episode 10 (“Goosebumps Walkaway”), spoken by the character Winston

 (I left out the last line of Winston’s speech, which serves to transition back to laughter but doesn’t make sense outside of the context of the show.)

Isn’t that fabulous? I’m adding it to my personal arsenal of quotes about affirmation and assertiveness. 

Here’s to living by our own comment cards!

 

One comment on ““There Is Only One Comment Card that I Pay Attention To”

  1. emilievardaman
    March 11, 2016

    That is a great quote! Yes, I think I’ll fill out a few comment cards for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2016 by in Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , .
