A Bringer of New Things

Each day brings new discoveries as I live, learn, grow, and write. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Kitten Spring

As you know, I was kept busy this spring by a litter of kittens–first trying to manage interpersonal dramas between the territorial mama-to-be and my other three cats, then trying to find homes for the five kittens she delivered in my house. It helped a lot when we worked it out for the group to make their temporary home on the vacant second floor of the office where I work, so they had more room to run around, with no other animals to worry about. I’m relieved to say that, after a lot of headaches, we finally found all the kittens good homes! We couldn’t find a home for the mama cat, though (whom I’ve taken to calling Jill), so she’s back at my place as our “outside cat” now–and loving it. She’s such a sweetheart, and I think (fingers crossed) she’s starting to make peace with my other cats.

Below are photos and a video, as well as a little 99-word flash story about this, called “Kitten Spring,” to fit this week’s Carrot Ranch challenge on the theme of “home.”

Despite the extra busyness and stress, I have to say that I feel so privileged to have had this experience of fostering these dear little kittens and their sweet mama!

~ ~ ~

Kitten Spring

She was a rare ginger female cat, gorgeous, sweet, and not more than a kitten herself when she appeared outside my house in March—starving and pregnant. No one claimed her. She scared our other pets, but we made her a little home in our sunroom. Soon they arrived: five mouse-like kittens.

They grew ever cuter as spring rolled on. It was difficult to find them all homes, but, miraculously, we did.

It’s June, and the mama is still with us—spayed now—and back to being a kitten herself, chasing cicadas during the day and fireflies at night.

~ ~ ~

Kitten Photos!

FullSizeRender (003)

In their favorite bed, sleeping their favorite way–all bunched up together

FullSizeRender (002)

Same bed, different day

FullSizeRender (00A)

Can you seek the black one’s little eyes and her funny pinkish-white chin?

FullSizeRender (008)

They played on this thing constantly.

FullSizeRender (00B)

So cute! The kittens, I mean, not my legs.

FullSizeRender (00F)

They were often fascinated by my fingers.

FullSizeRender (007)

Jill was taking a much-needed break from her babies and hanging out with me at my desk

FullSizeRender (004)

Can you spot both the yawns?

FullSizeRender (006)

Sleeping in the sunlight

Jill back at my place, happy to be free to play outside again

Jill back at my place, happy to be free to play outside again

And if this works, here’s a video…the cuteness of kittens is hard to capture in still photos!

11 comments on “Kitten Spring

  1. emilievardaman
    June 23, 2016

    Jill sure produced some adorable babies! Glad she’s spayed now, though. Thanks for caring for her.
    Last week I rescued an injured barn own. Sadly, he died in the wildlife rescue center. I was so looking forward to him being rehabilitated and brought back here to be released.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Kitten Spring — A Bringer of New Things – Claudia Vrabie

  3. Sarah Brentyn
    June 25, 2016

    Oh! 😍 Kittens!!! The are so CUTE! I want them all. You are so lovely for taking mama in.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charli Mills
    June 25, 2016

    So much fun to watch! Oh, to have the energy of kittens. Poor Jill, I bet she was wore out and you too, from a spring full of kittens. Happy to know all found homes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norah
    June 28, 2016

    What a busy house of kittens. I enjoyed your flash and your photo and video story. A wonderful multi-media presentation. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Home on the Range « Carrot Ranch Communications

  7. C. Jai Ferry
    June 30, 2016

    Great flash! And kitty pictures to boot? You win the internet this week 😉

    Like

  8. Sharmishtha Basu
    July 7, 2016

    It was a brilliant idea to spay her! you have a huge heart, hope Jill will stay with you always.

    mine is here
    https://agnijaat.wordpress.com/2016/07/07/home-for-carrotranch/

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your thoughts.

