A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Where Her Heart Is: A 99-word Story

By John Johnston (Aiguille Verte) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By John Johnston (Aiguille Verte) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

I have been absent too long from Carrot Ranch’s weekly 99-word flash fiction challenges. They always pep me up with a boost of creative energy! So even though I have so much going on right now–such as, this is the last week of an online summer course I’ve been taking, and I still have two papers to write for it (aha, I just realized that this is actually a procrastination post!)–I took a minute to write up something for this week’s challenge on the theme of offices, just for that little emotional boost. I highly recommend trying it!

My little flash is adapted straight from my real life (because that just takes less time!), including the details about one of the novels I’m gradually working on. The only things I changed were my name and the name of the place where I work. 🙂


Where Her Heart Is

The phone rings and jolts Kaitlyn back into her office. She had been flying over mountaintops with her heroine, searching for signs of the evil sorcerer, as her pen flew over the pages of her notebook. But now her novel will have to wait—again.

“Straight Bar Insurance, Kaitlyn speaking, how can I help you?” she says, quelling a sigh.

It’s a young man calling to get a quote on a new auto insurance policy. Kaitlyn musters up a professional, friendly tone and goes through the motions of providing the quote.

Meanwhile, her heart is still hunting the sorcerer.

7 comments on “Where Her Heart Is: A 99-word Story

  1. Sarah Brentyn
    August 1, 2016

    Based on real life? Hmm… I think I’d like to read this story of yours. Speed it up. 😉 (Me = Pot, You = Kettle)

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      August 9, 2016

      Aww, thanks, Sarah! As you can probably imagine, being the pot to my kettle, your interest in my story makes me feel so happy! I will do my best to speed it up, but you know how it goes. 🙂

      Like

  2. Charli Mills
    August 3, 2016

    Procrastination post! 🙂 I like to think of it as part of the process…good luck with your course! Great flash…it reflects the writer’s view of any office.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      August 9, 2016

      Thanks, Charli! I agree with you that in many cases, especially when it comes to writing, the things we do out of procrastination are often essential to our mental process. Procrastination gets a bad rap! (Is that how you spell that in this context? “rap”?)

      Like

  3. Pingback: Office Space « Carrot Ranch Communications

  4. Norah
    August 3, 2016

    How many times the “real” world jars us away from the imaginary world, that is more real to us! Great flash.

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2016 by in Creative Writings and tagged , , .
