A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Reconciliation: A 99-word Story

I wrote this little flash fiction piece for the Carrot Ranch weekly 99-word flash fiction challenge. This week’s topic is “an amazing feat.”


Mary was cutting her dog’s hair in the yard when an old blue pickup truck turned into the driveway below and started up the hill. She frowned. Who was this? “Go inside, please,” she called to her son, who was playing nearby.

As the truck crunched up the gravel drive, she gasped. Surely it couldn’t be him, after all these years. How long had it been?

The truck stopped and her father got out. Mary stared confusedly at his white hair, his trembling hands.

“Hi Mary. You look good,” he stammered. “I just wanted to say…well, I was wrong.”

My in-laws' dog, ready for a haircut from me

My in-laws’ dog, ready for a haircut from me

 

5 comments on “Reconciliation: A 99-word Story

  1. Charli Mills
    September 21, 2016

    Wow, it is indeed a great feat to overcome time and all the emotional baggage to take the journey this man took. I enjoyed the sensory details and felt like I was there watching the scene unfold.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 22, 2016

      Thank you; I’m glad you found the story to be effective! Yes, when I tried to think of an “amazing feat,” overcoming long-ingrained pride to apologize and admit one’s error was the most amazing feat I could think of!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Wow: Amazing Feats « Carrot Ranch Communications

  3. emilievardaman
    September 21, 2016

    Nicely done, as usual. You sucked me right into the place and the story.
    Cute dog, too!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 22, 2016

      Why thank you, Emilie! I’m so glad to know I was able to communicate this scene well. Yes, don’t you love this dog’s eager face? She is a constantly wriggling bundle of eager sweetness.

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2016 by in Creative Writings and tagged , , , , .
