A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Self-care School: And Sometimes I Need to NOT Make To-do Lists

 After all that talk in my last post about my personal “life hack” trick for making helpful to-do lists, I must tell you that on the other hand, I’ve learned that sometimes I need to not make to-do lists. In these times I need to just quietly listen to my heart, mind, and body in each moment and follow what they advise me to do with my time.

This has become especially true for my weekends. I know well enough what needs to be done, and there’s no way I’ll ever do everything I want to do in a given weekend. So it works better if I just have a mental priority list (the first item of which is always self-care!) that I then try my best to stick to while staying flexible and adaptable to the unpredictable nature of my unstructured weekend time.

(It’s unpredictable because people, the weather, or my own body may interfere with my best-laid plans. This is the norm, actually. So now I don’t make plans, at least not much.* I just consult my mental priority list when I do have free time and energy on the weekends.)

In my weekday life, when I start feeling stressed and burnt out, I know that means it’s time to chuck out my to-do lists and just do the best I can to accomplish the most urgent things while also doing as much self-care as possible (like taking lots of breaks with yummy snacks, cups of tea, and fun mystery novels!). Everything else can wait.

And really, as helpful as to-do lists can be sometimes, the truth is that if I can’t hold everything I need to get done in my mind, then I’ve got too much on my plate!!

 


  • *Sidenote: If you look closely at the photo of my to-do list in my last post, you’ll notice I had put a question mark beside the task of making a to-do list for the weekend. I managed to resist that urge and not make one, and I was better for it!
4 comments on “Self-care School: And Sometimes I Need to NOT Make To-do Lists

  1. Sarah Brentyn
    October 12, 2016

    Yes. This: “when I start feeling stressed and burnt out, I know that means it’s time to chuck out my to-do lists and just do the best I can to accomplish the most urgent things while also doing as much self-care as possible” Perfect. ❤ Carry on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      October 17, 2016

      Thanks, Sarah! Glad you could relate. Wishing us both effective self-care this week!

      Like

  2. Norah
    October 15, 2016

    This is true too. I need my lists to help me stay of top of my tasks. But we definitely need downtime away from a list of tasks as well

    Like

I welcome your thoughts.

