A Bringer of New Things

I want to read and learn all I can, write thoughtfully and truthfully, live according to reason and ever more mature wisdom, and savor every wonderful little gift of life.

Stuff Happening in my Life Lately

A recent photo of me and my baby bump. It looks bigger in real life!

I’ve had a LOT going on lately, and thankfully it’s been mostly good–even great–things! So I thought I’d share some of my personal life updates with you today.


But first, I want to share a link that a friend shared with me. Did you know that Leslie Knope of the show Parks and Recreations wrote an essay about the results of the U.S. presidential election? (Well, obviously it was written by a P&R writer, but the voice is Leslie’s all the way!) I absolutely loved this essay. Leslie shares her experience moving from denial and outrage at the results of the election to undaunted determination to keep optimistically fighting for the principles she believes in. She ends the essay with an inspirational message to young girls. She says to them:

“You are going to run this country, and this world, very soon. So you will not listen to this man, or the…men like him, when they try to tell you where to stand or how to behave or what you can and cannot do with your own bodies, or what you should or should not think with your own minds….

“He is the present, sadly, but he is not the future. You are the future.”

https://www.yahoo.com/tv/parks-and-recreation-leslie-knope-writes-letter-to-america-following-donald-trumps-victory-142904267.html

Yes!

The character of Leslie Knope is the main reason why Parks and Recreations is my all-time favorite TV show. I always wish she were real so I could go meet her and be her friend! 🙂


Okay, back to my life. Here are some of the things I’ve been up to lately, besides working and trying to take care of myself as well as possible:

• Going to doctor’s appointments. The babies seem to be doing great! And we know their sexes for sure now. (At the early ultrasounds one of the twins kept moving around too much for the ultrasound tech to get a good look down there.) They are both girls!

• Taking advantage of my second-trimester energy to get our house ready for the new arrivals. There’s still a lot to do, but we’ve been making progress. Just this week, we (okay, my husband) finally got the nursery painted. It’s lavender. Maybe I’ll post a photo once I’ve gotten my cribs and curtains and everything all set up too!

• Going to childbirth classes and doing other various things on my pre-babies to-do list.

• Going to my prenatal yoga class (when it works out…so far I’m the only student! This is because I live in West Virginia, not New York City or California).

• Taking CLEP tests. I took the American Literature this week and passed, thankfully, but it was much harder than I expected! I will definitely study more for the English Literature test, which I’ll do next. So far I have also done Analyzing & Interpreting Literature and College Mathematics. I love doing CLEP tests! It feeds my love-of-school-and-learning side (and I always did enjoy taking tests!) and helps me make cost-efficient progress toward an accredited bachelor’s degree. (See My Story for background on this if you want.) It costs about $1000 to take a 3-credit course online from the university I’m enrolled in (West Virginia University) but only $100 to get 3 credits from a CLEP test!

• Working on a twenty-plus-page, hopefully-publishable paper for the independent study course I’m taking this semester. The paper topic is American film portrayals of Borderline Personality Disorder. I’ll let you in on the bottom line: there are very few films that mention BPD by name as a diagnosis of a character in the film, but several films in which BPD characteristics can be observed in the behavior of one or more of the characters. I won’t go into all my discussion and analysis about that here, because this post is already a procrastination from working on the paper!

• As a break from the paper, working on a short story for fun and to submit to my monthly writers’ group for critique. I just love going to that group–it really feeds my soul. I think it will be a good self-care thing for me to do when I’m a mother, to leave the babies with their dad for a couple hours and get out of the house to go to my writing group.

• Visiting with friends and family when I can. And on this subject, I’m looking forward to my baby shower tomorrow, because a lot of my friends and family members will get to meet each other for the first time. Everyone is so excited for these babies! I’m grateful that I will have such an awesome support network.

• Dealing with various little cat problems. We had to finally go ahead and incorporate Jill–the stray mama cat who had kittens in my house this spring and then (after we fortunately found homes for all the kittens) became our (spayed) outside cat–into our household with our other three indoor cats, after she got hit by a car a couple of months ago and had to have hip surgery. (Whew, I fit that long story into one sentence!) We were thankful we were able to save her (because it didn’t cost too much, and her chances of full recovery were great)–she’s so cute and sweet. But introducing a new pet into an already-full household is always a tricky thing, and it certainly has been for us!

I think that about covers it. I have several more “Self-care School” posts I’m hoping to get finished and posted in the relatively near future, along with some other posts. But now you know what’s going on in the spaces between my posts!

4 comments on “Stuff Happening in my Life Lately

  1. emilievardaman
    November 11, 2016

    My goodness you’ve been busy! Thanks for the photo of you and your girls. I loved seeing it.
    Never heard of Parks and Recreation. I don’t have TV. Now I sort of wish I did.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      December 1, 2016

      Hi Emilie! I forgot to reply to the comments on this post. You can watch Parks and Rec on your computer/phone/device if you have a Netflix account. That’s how we watched it, via Netflix. Cheers!

      Like

  2. Sarah Brentyn
    November 11, 2016

    Good to hear all this. Congrats on the girls. 🙂 That’s going to be exciting. You look beautiful and happy. Looking forward to more posts about Self-care School.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      December 1, 2016

      Thanks, Sarah! 🙂 And congrats to you on your book release. (I get your blog posts via email; I just don’t often manage to get on the site to comment on them.) Fun times!

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2016 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , , .
