A Bringer of New Things

I want to learn all I can, live as wisely as I can, and savor every moment on the journey.

Busy Aralise: A Children’s Poem

Our cat Mallory (and Murray in the background) looking very wise. Pretend she is on a bed to illustrate the story.

Having finally finished and submitted that huge paper that I was working on (I managed to wrap it up at 37 pages and a giant headache!), I am now free to spend my extra time how I please. YES!!!! Today, I wanted to jump back in the saddle at Carrot Ranch and get that burst of creativity-fun that comes from participating in their weekly challenges.

This week’s challenge was to use the word “gander” as a verb meaning “to take a long look,” and to my mind that required some creative license. So I reached back to the custom of my childhood days and wrote a narrative children’s poem, the subject of which is inspired by my own life, clearly. It was quite difficult to fit it down to exactly 99 words, but I finally made it work–and very much enjoyed the challenge!


Busy Aralise

There was a girl named Aralise
Whose schedule was very full.
She had a different activity
Each day after school:

Mondays, guitar; Tuesdays, drama;
Wednesdays, jiu-jitsu;
Thursdays, softball; Fridays, ceramics;
And weekends were jam-packed too!

One morning, Aralise woke up and cried,
“What’s today? I forget! I feel dizzy!”
Then she heard a purring voice say,
“Aralise, you’re too, too busy.

“You need time to wander and meander,
To nap in a sun ray,
To pause and ponder, gaze and gander,
And, most of all, to play.”

It was her cat! He winked and smiled.
Amazed, Aralise said, “Okay.”

7 comments on “Busy Aralise: A Children’s Poem

  1. Sarah Brentyn
    December 13, 2016

    Love it. ❤ Cats know best. Meow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarah Brentyn
      December 13, 2016

      Oh, and congrats on completing that paper. I know the feeling. A weight has been lifted???

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      December 16, 2016

      Thanks! Absolutely–I think cats are little models of the concept of self-care! I will admit to occasionally using the prompt “What would Murray want me to do?” (he is the cuddliest of my cats) to help myself get back into a wise, self-caring frame of mind when my drivenness and/or anxiety is threatening to totally take me over. It helps! 🙂

      Like

  2. Charli Mills
    December 15, 2016

    You did finish the paper. What a huge relief that must be! Thank you for accepting the creative license and further challenging yourself to the constraint of poetry. Well done! And the cat is right, live life in a sunbeam not an endless schedule.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      December 16, 2016

      Thanks, Charli! Yes, it is such a relief! I like your succinct summation of the poem’s moral–“live life in a sunbeam not an endless schedule.” Here’s to taking time for pleasure–and for gandering. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: To Gander « Carrot Ranch Communications

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2016 by in Creative Writings and tagged , , , , , .
