A Bringer of New Things

Musings on personal growth, books, motherhood, writing, and more. "Every hour is saved from that eternal silence, something more, a bringer of new things." – Tennyson

Returning to My Blog at Last

Me with my little girls, age six months

I’d been thinking I would eventually sit down and write a long blog post on “ways I have grown so far on my journey of being a new mom (of twin babies).” But I finally realized–duh–I am never going to have time for that! Besides, it would be impossible to accurately count all the ways I have grown and all the things I have learned in the last seven months. I feel like I’ve become almost a completely different person.

But I do miss blogging. For one thing, it’s a form of writing (a.k.a. self-care) that provides instant gratification, which is something I need right now. For another, it helps me feel a little less lonely, and that’s something else I need. So I’m letting go of some of my perfectionism in order to just post what I can, when I can. (Or what I feel like, when I feel like it.) My writing may be less thought-through than I’d prefer, but at least it will exist!

I am only just now able to even think of things like blogging because–hallelujah!–the twins have been finally starting to sleep through the night. (That is, when they’re not sick with the latest cold or stomach bug…) For the first six months, my brain was in a continuous foggy crisis because I rarely got more than two hours of sleep at a time. But in the past few weeks I have started getting much more regular sleep, so my life is beginning to feel a little more like life again!

Or, at least, it feels more like a life, but, again, it’s one that’s quite different from my former one in several ways. The most obvious way is that I’ve traded peace and quiet for chaos and one minor crisis after another. But by no means would I go back and reverse the trade! My girls are precious, amazingly sweet little angels who have brought great joy and love into my life and the lives of all my family members and friends.

Also, as I said, the things I have learned and ways I have grown since the babies came have changed me significantly. It’s like I’ve taken a fast track down the road of personal growth to a new place of clearer vision and altered values. I aim to write about some of these things in future posts. For now I’ll just give a few easy examples.

1) Gone is all self-consciousness and caring about what other people think of me. I don’t have time for it. I’m not saying I am wearing sweatpants everywhere–I do still value the self-respect that comes from taking some degree of care with my appearance–but in general I do what I want and need to do without giving a single sh*t about what other people think. For example, sometimes on a sunny weekend day when the girls are down for a nap, I’ll just go out in the backyard (with the baby monitor) and lie down in the grass, letting the sun warm my skin and not caring one bit what any passing neighbors might think, because I just need what I need. It’s quite freeing, really!

2) At the same time as I stop looking toward other people, I also see them much more clearly than I did before. I used to be a bit of a Jane Bennet (from Pride and Prejudice), wanting to think the best of people and gullibly giving them the benefit of the doubt. But now, I am less enchanted by the adults with whom I interact in daily life, whether at work or socially; I don’t get caught up in the stories they tell themselves and others in order to cover up what they see as the less desirable truths beneath the surface. More and more, I see who people really are.

3) I see myself more clearly too–my strengths, weaknesses, needs, and patterns. And wow, if I thought I was in “Self-care School” before (see my previous posts)–new motherhood is Self-care Boot Camp! As hard as it is to do, I have to take care of myself in order to function and “keep it together” during the roughest times.

That’s all I have time to say now. Thank you sincerely for your kindness in listening! And it’s very nice to get reacquainted with my blogging world. Warm wishes to you!

8 comments on “Returning to My Blog at Last

  1. Norah
    September 19, 2017

    Your little ones are gorgeous. Life is an ever-changing adventure. Enjoy the ride!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 22, 2017

      Thank you, Norah! Yes, like the ancient wisdom — the only thing we can be certain of is change!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ruth Smith
    September 19, 2017

    I was recently wondering when we would hear from you again. So glad you’re doing well. Beautiful girls!

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 22, 2017

      Hi Ruth! Thank you! I hope you’re doing well too. Take care! Maybe we’ll bump into each other again soon!

      Like

  3. Sarah Brentyn
    September 19, 2017

    Haha! Self-care boot camp. That’s what I need. As you know, I’ve been working on the same things you seem to have accomplished here. “I do what I want and need to do without giving a single sh*t about what other people think.” I love it! Nice to see you. You look lovely, as do your daughters. ❤ ❤

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 22, 2017

      Yes! I have seen your posts about that and have been cheering you on! In fact, I think I only thought to write “sh*t” like that was because of your post about that book that writes it that way. It seeped into my consciousness. Anyway, here’s to both of us on our efforts of self-care and not giving a sh*t!

      P.S. I still intend to email you back as soon as I get a chance. 🙂 But I know you understand and know what it’s like to be busy!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Linda Johnson
    September 20, 2017

    Congratulations on the little ones!
    I enjoy reading all your posts. You inspire me to become a better person.

    Like

    • Sarrah J. Woods
      September 22, 2017

      Thank you, Linda! That is so nice to hear, that I inspire someone to be a better person. You inspire me to keep trying to be someone who inspires people! 🙂

      Like

I welcome your thoughts.

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2017 by in Discoveries from Living and tagged , , , , , , .
